We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable hotel for a stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel for a stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night waiting for our connecting flight the next morning. It was an ideal place to recover for those worn out after a long flight. It was close to the terminal, but not within walking distance; you need to take the complimentary hotel shuttle to get to the hotel. Check in was efficient and staff was courteous. We did not see anyone helping with luggages though. The room was on a smaller side but clean and well equipped with a comfortable bed. Complimentary coffee, tea and bottle water. Wi-fi was an extra charge. We ordered room service and food was OK, nothing to rave about. There was a indoor pool but we didn't get to use it. Breakfast spread was good and there was a egg station. Overall it's a nice place to stay while waiting for an early morning connecting flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    641
    221
    63
    25
See reviews for
278
341
123
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We made a hasty decision to stay at this hotel just before Sandy, and we are very glad we did. We wound up staying 5 nights, 26 hrs. without power, but the hotel responded on every level. Generator power kept the lights on in corridors and the lobby, and the entire staff worked tirelessly throughout - from the restaurant staff to the managers, who circulated in the lobby, answering questions and making sure that everyone was OK. This is a good Marriott hotel to begin with, but they really rose to the occasion here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stocktocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in connection with a New York trip with a group of 52. Nicely appointed Marriott Airport hotel. Well appointed rooms and comfortable beds. Nice lobby. Access to the hotel is a little confusing, but proximity to the airport is excellent. Staff was more than accommodating to the group. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiccup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Hotel has all the standards of a Marriott. Friendly staff,clean rooms, beds are comfortable as are the pilows, coffee tea. The shower was great. I came in late and left early so i was not able to try the breakfast but i was happy that it is close to airport and free shuttle service. I would reccomend this hotel to all my trip advisor friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were there the night of Nov. 8, 2012. We found the hotel very lovely. The beds were so comfortable, the rooms very clean and the lobby staff excellent. The driver of the van at 1:30 am was pleasant and apologized for being delayed due to trying to get gas - all the gas stations are backed up due to the hurricane. I would highly recommend this hotel. A very pleasant stay. Unfortunately didn't get a chance to use the restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcanuck_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there at the end of October having survived Hurricane Sandy before finding a flight out of Newark. It is an extremely well appointed hotel with most comfortable room and excellent restaurants which of course the price reflects. For an overnight prior to a flight you would hardly do better

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We chose to spend one night at the Marriott Newark Airport hotel after our 6 day stay in New York as we had a 5.45am flight next morning.

We were pleased we had chosen to do this as it was just so simple next morning to catch the shuttle directly to the airport. We were there within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel.

We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel the night before and we each had the hamburger which was delicious. We had a good night's sleep and the bed was very comfortable and of course the hotel was extemely quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing