We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were there at the end of October having survived Hurricane Sandy before finding a flight out of Newark. It is an extremely well appointed hotel with most comfortable room and excellent restaurants which of course the price reflects. For an overnight prior to a flight you would hardly do better

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We chose to spend one night at the Marriott Newark Airport hotel after our 6 day stay in New York as we had a 5.45am flight next morning.

We were pleased we had chosen to do this as it was just so simple next morning to catch the shuttle directly to the airport. We were there within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel.

We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel the night before and we each had the hamburger which was delicious. We had a good night's sleep and the bed was very comfortable and of course the hotel was extemely quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's hard to argue with a hotel that is on the airport property except when they take advantage of their captive audience. Nice restaurant and bar but $12 for pancakes (no coffee in that), $20+ for a very average buffet, wow, even here that's too much and I don't appreciate it. Stuck with a business trip and no car, well you get the picture.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikozdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here at least 10 times for work. It is a perfectly acceptable airport hotel. You can almost throw a rock at the airport & hit it it's so close.

Very nice gym with 6 treadmills, 6 elipticals, free weights, weight machines & 3 exercise bikes. Indoor/ outdoor pool. Outdoor section closed in winter. No hot tub. :( That's fine with me actually because we have one at home & I'd rather not sit in a tub full of strangers who may have not showered before entering.

Here today just 3 days after Superstorm Sandy. Electricity working fine & seems like a full staff of employees. Lobby quite full of people hanging out.

The bar didn't open til 4 & we were hungry so we went to Mangiare Di Casa. They had a lunch buffet available for $16. It was adequate. 2 tossed salads, cold cuts & cheese with assorted breads, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, mayo & mustard. Hot items included a hot Portuguese sausage soup, penne pasta with chicken in vodka sauce, meatball sandwiches, potato Kenish. Cookies & brownies for dessert. As we were leaving they were setting up the dinner buffet. It looked very good too. Liquor prices in the bar are very high. BYOB or abstain unless you have an expense account that covers booze.

Fairly quiet & comfortable bed with soft sheets. Not crazy about the smell of their toiletries. Too lemon furniture polish smelling.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauilover0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located to Newark Liberty International Airport. However, although it is literally across the street from the terminals, apparently you must still take a shuttle. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the concierge lounge was excellent. The hotel itself is old and a bit run down, the rooms are extremely small, and the bathrooms are smaller. We had a room with a door connecting to an adjacent room and the noise level was unacceptably high - we could hear conversations and the television in the next room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

In most respects this is a normal Marriott with good standards of service you'd expect. The rooms, however, have some of the worst inter-room soundproofing I have ever encountered. I could clearly hear the conversations of the people in the adjoining rooms - I'm talking about being able to make out what they were actually saying - also when they made coffee, went to the bathroom etc.

Was also not impressed that, despite having a do-not-disturb sign on my door AND having arranged for a late checkout, I still had housekeeping knocking on my door while I was trying to sleep to find out when I was leaving.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

With easy access to the Newark Airport, this hotel made an very early morning flight feasible. The shuttle to the hotel was abit tricky to find after I de-planed. 'Had to take the AirTran to another portion of the airport complex and then wait for the shuttle. Once you've done it, it should be alot easier to repeat. I would never rent a car from Advantage (located in the hotel) again if I didn't have to. I felt alot of pressure to purchase add-ons and since I was delayed 4 hours, I was made to feel it was my fault that I didn't pick up the car on-time. It's always an uneasy feeling when the desk person begins the conversation with "Well, this is not good news....". The hotel was adequate and the shuttle was exceptionally convenient and timely from the hotel to the airport. If you can stay here for less than $100, it's a deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,778 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $133 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. Our airport hotel in Newark, New Jersey offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing