We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
houston, tx
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel walking distance from ewr. Great rooms, nice service and pleasant airline theme atmosphere. Food in restaurant and bar was good and available until 1 am. Try the omelet... Available until bar closes and all day in the restaurant. Delicious! Comes with fries and salad.. Big enough to split.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    715
    243
    70
    32
See reviews for
309
394
131
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were 3 couples traveling together from Houston to Halifax. United cancelled our flight from Newark to Halifax at the very last minute and offered no assistance in finding lodging or retreaving our luggage. I contacted Marriott airport and they went out of their way to get us 3 rooms and sent a shuttle van to us up. The front desk was wonderful checking us in (we were very tired). The hotel itself is the best Marriott I have ever stayed in with pretty lobby, large rooms and comfy beds. The next day when we checked out, they let us store our luggage until we could make arrangements for another flight.
Thank you Marriott!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Exactly what I look for in an airport hotel -- the basics done right, good service and easy and quick access to and from the terminals. From my room to the terminal door was no more than 15 minutes. The shuttle runs continuously and only takes a few minutes. When I get in to an airport late and have to leave again early the next morning, the last thing I want is to wait for a shuttle to take me way off airport property to save a few bucks.

The hotel itself is quite nice, just what you'd expect from a Marriott. Of course things like bottled water and wireless are not free (the latter is, if you're in their loyalty program) and the meals are not cheap, but they're average price and better-than-average quality for this kind of place with this great location.

The room was more than adequate, with a comfortable bed, reading chair, desk with enough outlets, good-sized TV, etc. iron and ironing board, the usual soaps and shampoos and all that. Noise was not a problem for me.

The staff were efficient and pleasant, both at reception and at the restaurant. I'll definitely stay here again when going through EWR and would also consider this Marriott if I had a longer stay in mind, since it's easy to get to New York from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Without all the dirty details, we had left Rome, connecting to Newark airport....needless to say, we missed our connecting flight and couldn't fly out till the next day. We had no experience with the area; no car; and no patience by then. We looked out the window at the airport, saw the hotel, and figured we didn't have a whole lot of options (right or wrong). So, we picked up the courtesy phone at the airport, got the room rate and avail., and took the free shuttle they offer from the airport to the hotel. We walked in and we were so happy! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, and more importantly, the woman that helped us was a nice as she could be. Which, was a much needed experience considering the horrible one we had just had w/the person at the airport! What a pleasant surprise to have a bad experience turn into such a nice one. We dropped our bags and went to the onsite bar for a late lunch & a snack. The bar was really nice inside, lots of TV's and the bartender was just as friendly as our check-in person. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone whether you're stuck for the night, or looking for a (local) get away night or 2 with someone special. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mefuntravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is a typical conference/airport hotel, nicely appointed, but the rooms are definitely cramped, I would expect slightly better quality toiletries. The beds were comfy, but small, the gym was very, very nice and very well appointed and the breadfast, even tho it came at a significant price ($22 per person for a group of about 20) was very well done, fresh fruit, all that you can imagine other than omelettes. Would probably not stay here on a personal trip, but for business, not too bad. One note on the staff... not the most pleasant, our bus driver had to park elsewhere and the valet kinda went a little overboard on him, but it is Jersey. Reception staff was OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

First, to put in perspective, I'm Marriott Gold, stay in Marriott, Hilton, Westin, etc. NOT Holiday Inn type...Hotel is insulated from airplane noise but not from hall noise. Anyone talking in hall can easily be heard in rooms. Beds are VERY uncomfortable. The extremely cheap and low quality mattress is covered with a down blanket in an attempt to make it bearable. Last nite, I had to take all the comforters off the second bed and place on the other bed in an attempt to make it comfortable. Mattresses and bathroom are NOT up to Marriott standards and need a serious upgrade. If you are able to sleep on a hard mattress, you will be ok. If not, look elsewhere.

The rest of the hotel is up to Marriott standards, nice pub, very good food in pub as well as restaurant.

Whomever owns this hotel should be ashamed with the cheap mattresses! Come on owners, buy something decent.

Room Tip: Get a room with two beds, strip one and put double down comforters on mattress, re-make bed, it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikepch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Don't park at the Marriott - we left our car overnight in the "secure" valet parking lot only to find out at 8:00 am the next morning that it was stolen. We were assured by the Marriott employees the day before that it was safe to leave our luggage in the car since the lot was monitored constantly. We lost luggage with clothing and valuables for a 9-day cruise (family of 4). The hotel has now refused to accept any responsibility or liability for this and is passing the blame to the parking lot owners. Horrible experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika6823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing