We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Flew into Newark arriving late Saturday night. The hotel is literally 2 minutes walk across a parking lot from the terminal where BA lands. However, I'd phoned for the shuttle and it arrived as I reached the bus stop so i didn't walk.

It's a standard full service Marriott. Comfortable, rooms of good standard. The hotel bar (typical hotel 'sports' bar) was fine (and doesn't close until 1:00am) although I didn't try the food.

As I'm a Gold Marriott member I don't pay for internet but I think the standard rate was ~$13. It was slow in the evening but fine in the morning.

Decent gym with lots of well maintained kit, towels, water, etc. Pool and spa looked fine but I didn't use it.

Being so close to the airport (it's right under the control tower) makes it the perfect airport hotel - you'll never miss a flight because of a delayed shuttle. Absolutely no airplane noise in the rooms.

I'll happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

It was a few years ago I stayed at this hotel, and I was pleasantly surprised of its improved quality. The check in was very friendly and I got a nice room on the 8th floor with a King sized bed.

I dined at the bar and the food and drinks were of good quality and the server was very friendly.

The gym was also very good with lots of equipment. WiFi is currently being installed throughout the hotel, so with this improvement, there's nothing missing.

I will most definitively be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sören
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here for one night in Sep, 2009. After 15 hours flight flew in from Shanghai. I was exhausted and needed a good night sleep before I took off again flying somewhere else in the States. I arrived the hotel around 6ish in the evening and had to fly out again early in the morning. I only had about 8 hours in this hotel. The room lived up to Marriott standard. It was nice and clean and comfortable bedding. Check in/out was fast and hassle free ! Love it ! The shuttle bus service is great ! 3 minutes ride you are at the check-in counter of the airport ready to fly out again. I didn't have time to chek out the gym and restaurant or the breakfast so I can't comment on them. But I did get a good night sleep which was all I asked for back then.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is a good hotel if you're awaiting for an early flight out, or are getting off a longhaul and just need to crash out before going on your way. As others have said, the rooms are well soundproofed and there is little, if any, noise from the airport or the surrounding airport access roads.Rooms are a reasonable size, clean and have bathrooms to match, the beds are comfortable and everything seems to work as it should.

The free shuttle runs regularly, although if you've a stack of bags it can be frustrating that you can see the hotel a couple of hundred yards away on the other side of the car park but can't get to it. If you're travelling light, then head off across the carpark, dodge a couple of cars, and you're there - if only they could add a foot bridge...

To be honest, while the selection of food from the bar menu is more limited than in the restaurant, it seemed nicer and service was somewhat better and the staff more personable - of the two places, I prefer the bar. If neither of those excite you then it seems the local take-away's provide a reasonable offering judging by the number of delivery drivers that turn up in the lobby. Breakfast is ok, but again the service can be a bit on the slow and impersonable side.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windswept_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is very typical for a Marriott property. The room was very clean and had all the basic accomodations. I was quite surprised how quiet the room was given it's proximty to the airport. The check in/out process was very efficient and the staff was very pleasant.

The only disappointment was at the Italian restuarant inside the hotel - service was very very slow and the food quality was medicore at best. Would not recommend other than for the convenience of not having to leave the hotel

The hotel provided airport shuttle service which was very convenient and efficient. The hotel is a great place to stay if you have an early flight and need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exptraveller501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice place and very convenient to airport. They have a van right there with no need to catch train to remote site.

Van driver not very knowlegeable about where ground trasportaion services are though.

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

While all airport hotels should have adequate soundproofing, unfortunately, some don't. This one is great! I sat in my room watching planes taking off less than 300 yards away and didn't hear a thing. Perfect.

As others have noted (thank you fellow members!) you can walk to the hotel in 4 minutes if you don't want to wait for the shuttle. From Terminal B, walk straight out the door just north of Baggage Claim 1 and you'll see the Marriott. Cross a few lanes of traffic, follow the brick walkway through the parking lot (you can see it on Google Maps satellite view if you pull up the hotel address), cross a couple more roads, step over a 2 foot guardrail, and you're there.

My room was average size, clean, everything worked properly, and I slept well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retailwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $144 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. Our airport hotel in Newark, New Jersey offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing