We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you are going into NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location if you are going into NYC”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hilton Newark Penn Station is literally across the street from the train station. This is great if you are going into the City. It is also situated next to a Shopping Mall. However, if you are there on the weekend, this is of no help since every store seems to be closed on Saturday and Sunday. There is also no large restaurant in the Hotel. Food is available in the Bar and Grill. Staff was friendly. Most rooms are small but clean. There is a charge for WiFi, which I didn't appreciate.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDodgers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station.
I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    577
    285
    116
    64
See reviews for
355
374
137
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we stayed here for 5 nights and we where very happy for its location , the beds are comfortable ,the rooms are bit small but its not so bad ether,

well the hotel is attached to lots of eating joints like Starbucks ,subway ,dun kin donut ,etc

Break fast was good and we strongly recommend this hotel if you have work in this Area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulsankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station.
I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we stayed here for 5 nights and had a comfortable stay , the rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfortable , has lots of joints to eat like Starbucks ,subway, and donut king , and the resturant also has some good food , would surely recommend this hotel who are traveling in this part of New jersey ,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station.
I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Noisy: loud people in the halls and a lot of noise from outside
Attached restaurant: The Philly cheese steak sandwich was AWFUL and super expensive. Very dry and hardly any cheese on it. We didn't have a car, so no place else to eat other than Subway. Lots of small stores attached to the building but most were closed on Saturday night.
Not clean: there was a stain on our comforter, which we didn't see till morning. UGH!! Tile in the bathroom was dated, needs upgrading. No refrigerator in the room. I tried to plug in a small night light and all the power in the room went out
My daughter woke up with several bug bites on her legs, which she did not have the night before.
We didn't have a car, and the area was not somewhere I would want to walk around

Overall I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. They may be less expensive than others in the area, but I can understand wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I will be honest - the primary reason why we picked the Hilton Newark Penn Station as our hotel for our visit to NYC is because rooms are much less expensive than anything in Manhattan, and we wanted to spend as much money as possible on food and experiences, and as little as possible on accommodations while still staying in an actual hotel. You see, the trip from here to NYC is just a $5 train ride, from Newark's Penn Station to Midtown Manhattan's Penn Station, with the trip taking about 20 minutes (if even that long). If you were to drive into Manhattan, or Hoboken, or Brooklyn, then you would have to pay higher accommodation rates AND the excessive parking rates of those areas. At this hotel, we could just leave our car in the secure parking lot and not worry about it for four days. Since we also knew that we would only be using this hotel to sleep in every night after our long days in NYC, we also did not care very much about the hotel's services and features, but luckily for us, I had no real complaints with his hotel.

The staff were all very friendly (more so than other Hiltons at which we have stayed), the rooms were adequate, the beds were very good (comfortable, clean sheets, good pillows) the noise levels were as they should have been (that is, very minimal), and we even had a somewhat decent view out of our room. A 3.5 star rating might be more appropriate, but since I can only choose between 3 and 4, and 3 is unfairly low for this establishment, I am comfortable giving a 4-star rating.

Final note: much has been said about homeless people wandering into the hotel lobby (because it is connected directly to Penn Station). Yes, we did see some vagrants lingering in the lobby twice during a four-day period, but the hotel staff politely and promptly asked them to leave, and there were no incidents. We also never felt any sort of discomfort in these situations, and if it really bothers someone so much to see a homeless person in a hotel lobby that is directly adjacent to a major train station, then perhaps such people take their bourgeois sensibilities and stay at the Ritz Carlton or the Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ippocalyptica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Hilton at Penn Station is amazing. The hotel staff is personable and professional. Helpful with any questions you might have from taking the train into NY City to finding wonderful dining in the immediate area. The price is affordable and it is only 15 minutes from the Newark Airport. I also appreciate the convenience of having a car rental in-house. Thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station.
I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Newark Penn Station, Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not a lot to complain about, Hilton service with a smile. For a kind of of top brand hotel, you have to pay for little conveniences for should be part of the package E.g no refrigerator in the room...$25 if you need one

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Traude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station.
I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing