We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for travelling to NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed October 10, 2008

For quick day trips to NYC without having to pay the NYC hotel prices, I'd stay here again. One train ride between Newark Penn and New York Penn costs as little as $7.00 r/t for off peak travel.

The hotel looks as if it was renovated within a year or two. Bathrooms are small and the only sink is located inside of the bathroom. The pillows are firm but the bed is your typical mattress/box spring combo.

There is a business office, an exercise room, and a restaurant onsite but I did not take advantage of these amenities.

Shuttle service leaves Newark Liberty International Airport at approximately 30 minutes after the hour for a 10 minute ride to the hotel. If leaving the hotel prior to 0700h for a ride to the airport you'll need to contact the Front Desk to schedule a shuttle ride.

Hilton Newark Penn is conveniently located to Newark Penn Station either by the above street walkway bridge (which is closed after hours) or by simply walking across the street. There are some ethnic food restaurants a few blocks away from the hotel but I wouldn't walk there at night. Prudential Center is relatively close by too.

IMHO: there are other properties that border Newark Liberty International Airport but the hassles of having to schedule a shuttle ride to the airport then catching the AirTrain to the train stop then catching the train to NYC is more of a hassle than just walking across the street to Newark Penn. The less time I spend waiting for transfer connection means the more time I can spend in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hawaiian-kine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

Although i would personally never stay outside of New York again, the hotel itself was great especially for the money you pay.
We saved over $900 for 2 rooms for 3 nights by staying here. It is just across the road from the Penn Station which has PATH & Amtrak to take you into New York.
The PATH is the cheapest option @ $1.75 one way to NYC!!!
The quickest way is to get the PATH direct to WTC and then jump a cab up to the centre (cab costs approx $10-$12) but this will save you invaluable time as opposed to taking the other route in to the centre which takes approx 20 mins longer & you have to change trains...
Great hotel and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Chose hotel after not finding rates in Manhattan of less than $300-350 per night. Wanted easy access to NYC and hotel couldn't have been better for that as Penn Station is attached to hotel or simple walk acorss side street. Good rate ($170) though charge $21/day for parking. Hotel is clean, quiet, excellent beds/pillows. Small but adequate bathrooms. No reading lights for beds, just a central table lamp, not really ideal. PATH trains run frequently and 24 hours either to WTC or transfer to another PATH train at Journal Square which takes you to more central location in the city. Easy access to and from hotel off Hwy 21, either via Garden State Parkway to the north (best route back to New England) or to east via George Washington Bridge (or GW parking lot as it was known on my way in).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JW/SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We spent 5 days in NYC (in early september) we wanted to spend our money in the city not in the hotel bill! We chose this hotel cause it was cheap ($150 compared to $300 in new york), plus it had many perks :
it's located near liberty airport (the hotel shuttle picked us up at P4 air train station which saved us cab money),
it's located at newark penn station which is great to catch a train to manhattan (you're at new york penn in less than 15mins with NJ transit, it'll take you more (25mins) to get to World Trade or 33rd street with a PATH train)
it's close to the Jersey Gardens outlet mall (they took us there with the shuttle) great for rainy days!,
our room was clean, well furnished maybe a little small (for 3 adults) but we didn't spend much time in the hotel so it wasn't an issue,
there's a starbuck's in the hotel and a walgreens nearby (the neighborhood seems a little sketchy)
the staff was very nice and very helpfull.(check in is at 3p.m we arrived at 1.30 without a problem, check out is at 12 they kept our luggage until 6 p.m.(in a locked room) so we get to spend our last day in the city not at the airport!
I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coquelicot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Comfortable hotel. Wc could be redone. Beds are comfortable. Very close to train station. Good opton for who wants to vist NYC and stay in NJ wher accomodation is cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank richeyint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This hotel is a good deal if you book way ahead of time. The gate to the Penn NJ train station closes at 7:00 pm but it is a very short walk from the station to the hotel (~100 meters). The area is well lit and it seemed safe. Do not count on a 12 minute train ride into Manhattan. We timed it and it is approximately 25 minutes. The room was very clean and there are several affordable breakfast options inside the building if you do not want to pay for their buffet. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joule36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We were on a big train trip on Amtrak and, after seeing this hotel on prior rail trips through Newark, decided this was the place to stay. The hotel was very convenient to Newark Penn Station. It is connected to the station by a skywalk but it was closed when we arrived at 10:00pm though I had been told it was open until 1:00am. The walk was not long but we had to pull our luggage past the Greyhound crowd downstairs and across a street. The rest of our stay the skywalk was open which helped alot. Our room was very satisfactory though nothing really stood out either great or bad. The evening desk clerk was not willing to do much as far as late checkout though I am a Hilton Honors member but the morning clerk was very happy to honor our request. New Jersey Transit shares the same rail station so it is also easy to access trains to the shore from this hotel. We had room service in the morning and the food was good but service was slow. On the plus side, they called and said it would be a bit late but that stretched into 30 minutes which is too much. Despite this, we found this to be a solid hotel and a great place to stay when an overnight is required during rail trips. No taxi, no hassle.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing