We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to a Manhattan hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good alternative to a Manhattan hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visiting family in NJ and wanting to spend some time in Manattan too, this hotel is £50 a night cheaper than the New York Hilton on 6th Ave The rooms are much larger, with lots of storage if you are staying for a week or longer and recently refurbished. There is a Starbucks and a diner in the Mall attached to the Hilton if you dont want to eat at the hotel. The Hilton breakfast buffet is $22 a head and good food (esp corned beef hash!) Newark Penn Station is over the street and the PATH train takes 30 mins to 33rd St or World Trade Centre for $2.75 or get a Metro card. They run a shuttle bus to Newark Liberty Airport so no cab fare to the airport! Newark is up and coming we were told there are great restaurants in the Ironbound area but didn't get a chance to see them on this trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clattters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    569
    282
    116
    62
See reviews for
349
372
135
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There's aren't many choices in downtown Newark, and I was a bit hesitant based on some of the reviews here, But...our stay was very nice and without incident!Clean, quiet room; small restaurant but surprising good food and very generous portions; staff was friendly and helpful without exception.

This is, without doubt, the most convenient hotel to Penn Station - literally a a minute or two walk across the street or elevated walkway. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, but that's downtown Newark for you - walked to and from NYPAC without problems, but wouldn't do that without a group of people or late at night. (Not the Hilton's fault/problem, of course, just a word of caution.)

Would stay here again if the occasion rose.

A couple of suggestions:
1. Ask for a high floor - the station is busy non-stop, so the lower rooms might be a bit noisy.
2. Spend a couple of bucks more and get a room on the concierge level - breakfast in the private dining area was top-notch (and free).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor or spend a couple of bucks extra for the concierge level & free breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BistroBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libgirl1234
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Hilton Penn Station is very convenient if you want to catch a show or take the train into the city. The staff are very gracious and attentive. The room was comfortable. However it's a little overpriced. We also had a clogged toilet upon arrival and a black, curly hair in my daughter's bed. I'm more tolerant than many and just assumed it to be the maid's hair that must have fallen out as she made the bed. But my daughter did sleep on the top sheet! Request a room in one of the top floors because the street noise is excessive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank libgirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear libgirl1234,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. We have spoken with the housekeeping staff regarding your comments and would like to thank you for providing us with some additional training opportunities.
I do also want to thank you for your sincere comments about our gracious and attentive employees! They are truly the backbone of the hotel and strive to reinforce hospitality one guest at a time!
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay with us, as all feedback helps us to ensure that your future experience(s) with us are seamless and enjoyable.
If you have any questions or comments in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me using the information provided below.

Sincerely,

Jerry Lord
General Manager
973-645-2055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here recently because it was the best rate on a HIlton in the NY area. The hotel needs a massive over haul, but it is extremely convenient in traveling to NYC. Only $6.00 on the NJ transit which is right across the street from the hotel. The room was not very appealing. Not your typical Hilton. Would I stay there again, maybe. I love luxury and this isn't one of Hilton's best and I am a Hilton Vacation Club owner! Again, the best part about the hotel is the convenience to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jetset53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are planning a romantic evening ask for a higher floor (scenery); suite was very nice; make sure robes are there as stated online (ours were MIA); Continental breakfast a bit expensive. Convenient to NY/NJ Penn Station, right across the street/or use the walkthrough connecting straight into the hotel w/o going outside ; nice place to stay in you are going to NJPAC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my second stay and was pleased. Great price on the rooms for the location (next to Newark Penn Station) and is perfect for anyone. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The only concern were the number of homeless people outside the hotel - best not to be alone when walking outside at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a girls trip. One of us coming from Buffalo, NY and myself from San Francisco, CA. We decided to stay in New Jersey as an alternative to the higher prices in Manhattan. My friend suggested the hotel due to the proximity to the train station. I won't be staying in Manhattan unless absolutely necessary! In addition, the staff recommended a fantastic restaurant, Dinosaurs, which we both will be coming back there for more. I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words! We aim to turn moments into memories for our guests and it sounds as if we did just that for the “girls”. While I am admittedly biased, I sincerely feel that our staff is the best feature we have! I especially like being able to share this great feedback with the management team so that they can use it to reinforce our “sincere about service” culture. We are fortunate to be connected to Newark Penn Station which is the gateway to New York and all that wonderful shopping. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Jerry Lord
General Manager
jerry.lord@interstatehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing