We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Being assigned a room that was "off-line" is not good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“Being assigned a room that was "off-line" is not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Regarding the specific issue that I mentioned: On arrival, I checked in and the desk associate took a moment to step back and speak with a manager about which room to bring back "on-line". This did not click with me at the time that there would be an issue requiring the room to not be on-line in the first place. Then the manager informed me that it was "one of the best rooms" they have because it was a corner and had an out-of-the-bathroom sink. I was alone, so this quality alone was not a bonus for me. I then went up to my room to find it a normal room on the 7th floor. It appeared adequate at that time. I went to the business function I was in town for and arrived back to my room very late, after midnight. With the early flight that morning, busy day, storms, and late night, I headed straight to bed. I tried closing the curtains only to find there were no blackouts, only sheers. I couldn't imagine what could be done at that hour to correct the situation and already in pajamas for bed, I didn't want to call up hotel staff. I wish I had - apparently my window was facing due east. At the crack of dawn, the room was lit and only got brighter from 5:30 am on. In addition, I was up from 2:00am-3:00am because there were only feather pillows, no non-feather options on the bed or in the closet, which had me sneezing non-stop. Usually there are a mix of pillow options to work with. I wish I had taken the time to complain in the morning, but I had business meetings beginning at 8:00am and I was so tired, I just left. I was really surprised that Hilton would pull this type of charade - I later found out that rooms are usually "off-line" when there is a problem. I can't believe the manager tried to tell me I was getting a better room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry L, General Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We do apologize about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We immediately checked the room and the blackout drapes were in place and functional. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with us further as your experience is not the norm. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and again, we sincerely apologize for your challenging stay at the Hilton Newark Penn Station.

Jerry Lord
General Manager
973-645-2055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    522
    256
    113
    53
See reviews for
310
335
126
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had to go between Brooklyn and Newark for work and decided to stay at the Newark Hilton due to proximity to train and my office. The place was just dank, exterior to interior. I don't think the springs poking my back through the mattress were orthopedic. THere needs to be a rehab done here, nice staff, but room I had smelled musty, had doors from 1979, and an interesting looking splatter on the curtains...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rogerroy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hilton at Newark Penn Station is right across the street from the Newark train station (walk out of the train station and you are there). The location is excellent, and the staff are very helpful and professional. Newark is not the safest city, but the Hilton felt very safe and has security features that prevent any problems for guests (vigilant staff, key cards required in the elevator, etc.). I ordered one meal from room service and it was fine (at the level I expected from a Hilton). The bar is comfortable and serves good local food and has a decent selection of beer on tap or in bottles. The rooms need to be updated physically (this Hilton hasn't been remodelled in a long time) but the staff kept my room very clean and everything worked fine. The bathrooms in the rooms are very small. This hotel is also convenient to the Ironbound district if you like Portuguese food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Foxfire_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I will preface this review by saying that I have been to NYC at least a dozen times and have never stayed in the same hotel twice.

I've stayed in Manhattan, Brooklyn, the Bronx and in a few places in New Jersey - usually trying to save money since hotels in the city are so expensive.

During my last visit, I settled on this hotel and I have already booked another stay here for later in the year.

The hotel is literally connected to Penn Station as in you don't even have to go outside to get on the train. This was very convenient since it was raining and very cold when I was there last December. It's only about 20 minutes to Manhattan.

The hotel staff was probably the nicest I have ever encountered and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. The rooms are impeccably clean and parking is only $11/night.

There is a bar/restaurant on the floor that is reasonably priced and other shops that are a part of the connecting catwalk to Penn Station are literally footsteps from the hotel elevators. Also, it is very safe.

If you can find a good deal on this hotel, it's the most affordable place to stay while visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirrledpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FLorida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was great for the conference I recently attended down the street. Convenient free shuttle to the airport, very good service, and although downtown Newark isnt the best, this is a nice respite if you have to be there. I saw lots of families using it as a home base for a NYC trip and it is across the street from Penn Station Newark so it's definitely convenient if you dont mind trains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark new jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent service veto convenient right across fruition the grey hound bus station I hay no problems at all this wad my second time using this hotel!!! Everything I neededed right in the same location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We landed at Newark & checked in trouble free in this hotel. While there's nothing unique about the hotel or about our stay experience there, our stay at the hotel was comfortable & the staff was friendly. The best.. the penn train station wad right under our feet..quite Literally

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTraveller_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing