We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dec 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dec 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first trip to NYC and its was great to see. I went with Hubby and 3 children (16,10,5) and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing was odd was how small the bathroom was, the room was clean and roomy. I wish we had queen size beds instead of full sizes and a bigger bathroom. I mean the bathroom was so small that you can not open the door to the bathroom while your kid is on the toilet or you would knock them off the toilet. But getting to the PATH or to Amtrak was easy walk but would not suggest this location if your press for time it took at least 30 mins or more to get to NYC but that could be because of the repairs being made because of Sandy. But it was a lot cheaper staying in Newark than NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    509
    244
    110
    49
See reviews for
297
322
123
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good value with good proximity to the railroad station and downtown Newark. The area is struggling to regenerate, but other than big events at the Prudential Center, things still feel more like a concoentration for commerce than a vibrant social hub. The hotel is a little dated but acceptable with no outstanding negative or positive features.

Room Tip: Soom street noise (as expected), so go for higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent the last night of our holiday at this hotel. Chose this hotel as it was next to the train station (arrived by Amtrak) and it is close to Newark airport (next day departure). The rooms were clean and comfortable - bit of street noise and train noise but nothing to fault the hotel about. It is an east 30 minute train ride to lower Manhattan on the PATH train (40 minutes to Midtown). The staff were extremely helpful as we stored our luggage after checking out (the gentleman who stored our bags was great). The hotel offers a complimentary hourly shuttle to Newark Airport - the driver helped load our luggage into the van and the journey was about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't overlook Raymond Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 24 stayed one night. The location was convenient for our purposes but the area is not nice - an armed policeman told some of our party that it was not safe to leave the hotel! The rooms were OK, although the duvet cover was only placed over the duvet - I would have expected the duvet to be in the cover. The hotel breakfast was expensive but the steak & eggs were very tasty. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaceandPhilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, returning after 2 years the same high standards of housekeeping continue. Staff all friendly & approachable. Location and access via P.A.T.H. To Manhattan is excellent, convenient & good value. Only downside was overpowering scent of air freshener which seems to be pumped through A/C in public areas & corridors and really is at too high a concentration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Newark Penn Station for only one night. The room was comfortable and clean, I would say it stood up well to the Hilton standard. The hotel was remodeling but that really didn't interrupt my stay at all. The little restaraunt attached is nice and had good food, but the service was a little slow. One complaint I would mention is the hallways seemed dark, like they might need to increase the wattage on the lightbulbs they use or something. The employees were more than helpful with any request. Great location, connected to Newark Penn Station (direct connect to Manhattan!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pleasantly suprised by the nice decor of this hotel. Many older hotels in NJ are awful. This one has been updated, and the rooms were clean, up to date and very quiet. Only stayed for one night, but if traveling to NYC via train it's a good option instead of driving into the city.
Would stay here again if in the area on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing