We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“In the face of a natural disaster the staff at this hotel excelled when circumstances could have been terrible- top marks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Penn Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Penn Station to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Penn Station
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the face of a natural disaster the staff at this hotel excelled when circumstances could have been terrible- top marks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was chosen to allow easy access to rail transport in this region - from Philadelphia to Connecticut. And if Super Storm Sandy had not appeared this would have proven to be the case. Despite being a hotel that at times showed its age, the rooms were comfortable (a window leak mid storm must be forgiven when fans are being blown from the roof!) the restaurant / bar was welcoming and the option of facilities around the hotel were adequate.
From our arrival the reception staff were amazingly calm and supportive - already forward planning our unexpected extended stay by booking added room nights.
The hotel location opposite Penn station is great and I would stay here again. Much better value than fighting around NY when a simple train trip will get you there. Plus easy access to Liberty Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    481
    227
    103
    44
See reviews for
274
300
120
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fairly typical Hilton, which was good. I got what i expected and was pleased. The front desk staff were all VERY helpful and friendly; I truly appreciated their service. The hotel is connected to an above ground walkway that gives easy access to the Newark Penn Station. Catching a train into NYC was very convenient (although it did take me a little while to figure out which train to actually get on and which machine to buy the tickets from ... it's not the easiest train station to navigate and figure out for a first-timer). Don't expect any amazing views from your room; the area isn't very scenic. But, overall, glad I stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband, parents and I stayed here in order to explore NYC over a long weekend. The condition, cleanliness and comfort of the hotel were great. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful. Being connected to the train station and having covered parking were also extremely convenient. We also got breakfast with our rate, which was substantial and good. I would definitely stay here again. The only thing I'll note is that there is traffic noise even though we were on the top floor. They provide ear plugs, which is thoughtful and appreciated.

If you're not familiar with the NYC area transit, the Info desk at the train station was very helpful when we needed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani42379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for meetings in the area, because of the Newark location. This is not a property I am going to come back to, unless all other options are sold out. Service is reasonable, but no one goes out of their way to please you, for example, small perks like a bottle of water to Hilton Honors guests are not given here. But the worst is not that they don't give you the small things, but the bigger things that you don't get. The small gym has two treadmill, out of which one doesn't work and on one of the two stepper machines the screen didn't work, so my workout went south waiting in line. Every time you access the parking lot you have to wait in line at the front desk to get your ticket validated, so if you drive in and out, you'll find yourself standing in line most of the day.
I'm a frequent Hilton guest, with silver status, but this stay has made me start thinking that I should broaden my horizons to other chains.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
319 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location for this hotel. The staff is very welcoming and helpful however the rooms are getting to be a bit run down. In need of a remodel... but still nice! There was no luggage rack etc in my room which was a bummer and the rooms are not very soundproof. This hotel has a lot of traffic and parties going on it seems like. Tunnel connects you to the train into the city, which makes shopping very easy, and the hotel is a way better value then staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hilton is a lower standard hotel. It is old and dirty. In the floors and in the rooms there is additionally a bad smell. At night it is very loud because it is directly situated at a very large street.
There is only one benefit: you can easily access New York using the train that starts at Penn Station.
But is you have another choice, don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton, Newark, NJ right after Hurricane Sandy. However, I was fortunate enough to be there for a joyous occasion- a wedding. The accommodations were nice, but nothing special. I didn't get the door held for me (one of my favorite hotel perks that make me feel special). I was also utterly surprised (especially after the storm) that the Hilton charged for internet service in their rooms. I thought that they would have waived that fee, knowing how many people were displaced due to the storm. You also HAD to pay the $22/day parking rate. When I got to my hotel, there were some amenities missing in the bathroom and I had to find a maid in the hall to stock up. I just think there were some little touches that were lacking- the hotel did not go out of their way for me. I mean, it's the Hilton, I was expecting perfection. Doubtful that I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing