We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedding for the roll-out inconsistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bedding for the roll-out inconsistent”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel a couple of times recently and found it to be ok. In both cases we needed bedding for the sleeper sofa. On the first occasion we asked for bedding at checkin, when the bedding still wasn't delivered half an hour later my wife called the front desk, half an hour later she went to the front desk, half an hour later the bedding was delivered. Second visit....rinse and repeat....difference this time, no bedding was ever delivered. DIdn't exactly meet expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay, I will be sure to share your experience with the team so that we can learn, grow and continue with the great strides we have made over the past year improving our guest experience.

Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    93
    34
    19
See reviews for
95
80
38
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yoshi00
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here the night before a flight out of Newark. The hotel and rooms are very clean and new. The beds were comfortable. We used a park and fly package and left our car there for one week in their gated lot and had no problems. It was a short shuttle ride to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Yoshi:
Thank you so much for the nice review, I will be sure to share this with the team, we have made great improvements to the guest experience in the past year and your kind review is a nice reward for all the hard work the team has put in. Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed there with my sister for my uncle's funeral and I really enjoyed my stay there. The service was great! It was clean and there was nothing to complain about. i will stay there every time I go to Jersey. Don't hesitate to stay there if you want a comfortable stay for a great price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
MelindaLiz:
Thank you for the awesome review, I will be sure to share this with the team who have been working very hard this past year to improve the guest experience, I am delighted that we were able to make a difficult time for your family a little easier, our thoughts are with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here after arriving at Newark airport, preparing for a business meeting the next day. The hotel seems modern and clean, and has conveniences like airport shuttle (separate terminal - take Airtrain) free Wifi, and printers to print out your boarding passes at the hotel. Disadvantages are food: there's no decent place to eat within walking distance, although some restaurants nearby have a shuttle service (they have "quick" food in the lobby, if you're desperate). The breakfast is limited and greasy - wish they'd put out a continental breakfast, or even better, a breakfast buffet. The rooms are modern and clean, but I woke up early listening to traffic truck noise (it's right on a freeway) that was enough to wake me. I never heard any airplanes, though. If I'd been more tired, I might have slept through it.

Room Tip: Find one facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review, we have been working very hard in the past year to improve the guest experience, I am very lucky to have a great team, who give it all every day and it is showing. Thanks again and happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This most recent stay was about my fifth or sixth time and it was another pleasant experience. A staff employee gave me an upgrade, too. The hotel has undergone a few cosmetic changes since the last stay. A modern vibe still exists in the lobby. Free coffee/tea and internet service in the lobby is a welcoming touch and there is comfortable seating, too, both in the lobby and outside in the courtyard. Staff is friendly and accomodating and offered to put on a hockey game in the lobby since the rooms did not have that channel. Driver on the free airport shuttle was also friendly. Also, I talked to a business traveler one night who was staying at an adjacent property but since that hotel had no dining options, he came here for a quick meal which is apparently limited in the area. The bed was very comfortable. The only drawback is outside noise but that is to be somewhat expected since it is an airport property amid major roads. This is a very good hotel and should be among your options if you need to stay near the airport.

Room Tip: Coffee and tea is always available for free in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelle311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing my hotel once again and delighted that you have noticed some of the changes we have made to improve the guest experience, please feel free to reach out to me directly on future reservations. Happy Travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Close to the airport is the key phrase here. There is not much peace and quiet with planes taking of or landing every minute, every hour, of the day and night. They have a bit of a captive audience because most people do not wish to fight the traffic to find a restaurant, so they can charge whatever they please for the food from their little mini restaurant - and they do. It wasn't the most comfortable place I've ever stayed. It was noisy, and the rooms could have benefited from a mini refrigerator where you could keep your $6 bottle of drink cool.

Room Tip: There really are none. You will hear planes taking off and landing 24 hours a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review, it is so wonderful to see the teams hard work and daily dedication paying off; with happy guests, we appreciate your business and your comments, in our continuous drive to exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Having experienced Courtyards in India where they compete with sub luxury hotels, this one is a souped up motel with limited service in close proximity of NJ liberty airport. Stayed here for a night and it makes a good transit point especially if your flight arrives in late evening.

Rooms are quite comfortable - my family of 4 were nicely accommodated in a room with 2 double beds.

It provides a free pickup-drop service round the clock from the P4 parking area - accessed via the inter terminal monorail service. If using the taxi service make sure to have the address handy as there are several Marriott properties including a couple of Courtyards in the vicinity and cabbies have a way of confusing the passengers.

The hotel has a 24hr grab and go that is stocked adequately and a bistro that operates for breakfast and dinner. There is nothing much in the walking distance.

Was impressed by the hotel manager "Gary" who has an eye for detail and does not mind getting his hand dirty in fixing what he felt needed attention.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGB68, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to review our hotel, I am delighted that the team was able to assist you and make you feel comfortable. Regards and happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
4.2 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing