We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Iron bound option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol-Mar Restaurtant

Sol-Mar Restaurtant
Ranked #13 of 568 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
westfield, nj
Level Contributor
304 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Iron bound option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great staff; large portions; not too noisy; ample nearby public parking. Excellent seafood, pretty good meat. Reasonable prices. Strong sangria. What's not to like?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DSM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
790 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,320 helpful votes
“Good authentic Portuguese cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here before flying out of nearby Newark airport. And as usual, the restaurant did not disappoint. The food servings were generous and the service was impeccable, as always. If you are in the area or have some to kill between flights, this is worth a stop.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a tourist place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and i have visited this wonderful portuguese restaurant 3 times since being a recommendation of a good friend from the area. The parking could be tough at times, since they do not have a lot. The decore is pure portugal and comfortable seating. We split a appetizer of cold clams and osters and was so fresh and clean to the palate. We get this every visit and highly recommend it to you. We've had the lobster, the grilled seafood platter, the whole fish and all were superb. Be care of the man walking around with the sausage bread, IT IS TO DIE FOR AND IT IS FILLING, and it will cost you $$$ . There was no mention of price when offered to us. And ask FOR PRICE'S OF SPECIALS, so there will be no sticker shock at tab time. they also have wonderful desert and coffees. Try the orange pie, it is memorable. They also have a great wine list and very good sangria.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank frank y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Google reviews of Sol-Mar don't lie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Fantastic family dinner with impeccable service. Apps of Clams, Shrimp and Chorizo. Dinner was a recommended grilled seafood platter. OMG! Two broiled lobsters, a bevy of clams, shrimp, scallops, mussels, Langostines, cod and stuffed crab. Fantastic Flan for dessert. A couple of table-side visits from the owner. Complimentary Port Wine after dinner. Great place...feels like we were in Portugal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another good Portuguese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I met a girlfriend for dinner there during the week. We made a dinner reservation since I had a groupon(if you see a pattern here you are right I am a big coupon user when it comes to restaurants). We each had a glass of the white house wine. Very cold and crisp. We shared the grilled shrimp appetizer that was delicious. The bread was good for dipping. I had the rack of lamb. It was good although it could ahve been just a little more done. I had ordered it medium rare. My girl friend had the veal scallopini. Our plates were clean when we were done so I guess the food was good. They also served us a side dish of fried potato slices and rice. If you are used to very crispy potatoes with your portuguese food these are not the crispy type but okay. There are other portuguese restaurants in the area that served them more like potato chips. I got the fellgin that these were not hand made, but they were still good. I would definitely eat here again. The service was great. there is plenty of parking across the street.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnewishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol-Mar Restaurtant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing