We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Forno's of Spain Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Forno's of Spain Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 585 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: We are located a two blocks away from Newark Penn Station and New Jersey Transit, which is walking distance.
Description: Fornos of Spain is an award winning Spanish restaurant located in Newark. For an authentic taste of fine Spanish dining, we welcome you to Fornos! **We now provide pickup and return shuttle services to all hotel guests in the Newark area. All guests have to do is call the restaurant. Monday-Thursday, 5pm - 11pm.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I absolutely love this place. We've become regulars there since visiting for the first time a year ago. The food is amazing and the service is excellent! My husband and I love this place so much that this is where is asked me to marry him! :-). We've been there twice since his proposal in November and will be going back again tomorrow night for my son's birthday. I obviously highly recommend Forno's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    151
    44
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Spanish food in a less than amazing part of town!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having some time to kill before my flight, I walked down Ferry Street from the Amtrack Station. Pretty dodgy part of town - bargain stores, homeless folks panhandling etc. There are a few restaurants but they looked not great until I passed Forno's. Inside there is an inviting bar with friendly barmen, so I parked and ordered some chorizo in red wine, followed by stuffed squid. OMG, apart from the portion sizes (which were huge), the food was fantastic. A must try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible !!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is my favorite place to eat in Newark! The service is incredible.... Food is fantastic.... The staff is over the top!! Love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbxort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spanish food fit for King Juan Carlos!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A group of us went late one dreary weekday night. This place has a soft environment without clatter - only a low hum of voices. Our table was in the middle of the large dining room. Seated near us was a table of guys who looked like NFL players eating 4 lb. lobsters. We ordered time tested classics like paella, bacalao (dried salted cod), and grilled pork chops. Don't be afraid to ask for something you want here -- they are very accommodating.

Every dish is cooked to order, so the wait is longer than McDonald's and costs much more, and well worth it. They bring salad for the table to share and piles of fresh bread. Entrees are put on the table to allow for tasting each other's dishes. We all enjoyed our food. One of our group owns a "hot" West Village restaurant, and he was happy as a clam!

Waiters and busboys never miss a beat in providing constant service. We were the last table to leave and never felt rushed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewarkTraveler1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It had a good rating on the Zagat and tripadvisor, but we were disappointed”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The salad and bread came out right away and were good. The food took forever and was only okay. The halibut was fine but not outstanding. Scallops and paella were somewhat disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forno's of Spain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forno's of Spain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing