We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Neighborhood gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Caneca Restaurant

De Caneca Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 551 Restaurants in Newark
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My first stop in, I walked into the bar area on what must have been local utility company "skip word day" or a casting call for the next episode of Sopranos. But hey, who am I to judge grown career men drinking for the rest of the day at 2 PM?

The bar service is great and the food is magifique! Try the cilantro and garlic soup! The drinks are all well made and the house Portuguese red wine makes me wish I'd never have learned French. Almost everything that comes out of the kitchen is great fare for that matter. Reasonable enough prices for a solo guy to hang out for a while, have some dinner and not drop a fortune. Or take a date and eat in the dinning room for a little more upscale presentation of the same food.

Interesting neighborhood as you'll probably experience a local new immigrant or two stopping in to sell knock off watches or bootlegged DVDs, but hey it is Newark after all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnypuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“delicious and authentic portugese/spanish cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Unbelievable portions... fresh and cooked to order ... excellent and very attentive wait staff. Good selection of wines... daily fish and meat specials are mouth watering ... their almond cake tastes like an old-fashioned good humor toasted almond ... sangria is tasty! We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chermar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hard to go wrong with this restaurant, portion sizes are huge, food really good and prices quite reasonable.
Wine list is decent, personally I prefer the selections from Spain versus the Portugese wines which seem to be more of an acquired taste. (think Harsh).
Service is a little spotty, most of the staff are very knowledgable and friendly, one night we had a guy who was described by his fellow server as a busboy. (he may have been a good busboy, he was not a good waiter)
Old style restaurant, in terms of decor, the way the staff are dressed and many items, but they deliver big time in value

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Newarks best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were a party of 12 for my husbands 65th birthday and not only is the food excellent but the service was as well. Hat's off the Tony De Caneca's you know how to make guests feel like family.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie71369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have a great dinner in Tony Da Caneca ,I was there with my gilrfriend and we have a great food and a great service.Sure we will be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cargar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Caneca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing