We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at good prices!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Vasca

Casa Vasca
Ranked #8 of 568 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went on a Friday afternoon and to our surprise we were able to sit down immediately. I had the "Paella Marinera", my friend had the "Salmon and shrimp in champagne sauce", and her nephew had the "Veal in sherry and cognac sauce with mushrooms and peppers". All three of us enjoyed our plates and none of us had any complaints. The staff was very attentive and the overall price was not bad. Along with the food we also had some pitchers of sangria and the pre-tax tab was under $90-.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    54
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“One of those great places the locals know about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Casa Vasca is a small family run restaurant. The restaurant is located behind a door in the bar area and is small. Reservations are probably a very good idea though they try to accommodate everyone.

Our party had lobster, beef, veal and chicken/shrimp entrees. All were quite large and well done. My veal in spinach sauce was fork tender and well seasoned. The local bread is not to be missed. Soup is always included. At our meal, it was a yummy potato and leek soup. They also brought over fresh fried potato chips with our meal.

Several in our party also had dessert. The coconut sorbet was outstanding in its freshness and was a perfect end to the meal.

We also had the white sangria, which was very refreshing.

The restaurant is loud and friendly. I bumped into several friends that night (and will chide them later for not telling me before about this little restaurant). The restaurant also has a free valet lot. Parking on the street is quite difficult.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We made reservation and even though they had our reservation we waited 45 minutes. The food was not that great...my sister asked for a mariscada en salsa verde and only found the empty lobster shells, she brought it to their attention and they made her feel like a jerk and did not believe her "NASTY" I should add that we all saw her "fished" for the lobster meat on the pot but there was none.

First time this happened to any of us, it was a group of 6 and have been eating Spanish food all our lives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewjerseyCaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie,PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited this charming corner restaurant in Newark's Ironbound district after a college basketball game for lunch. There is off- street parking, which is a huge bonus in a place where residents double park! We entered through a bar where the locals were drinking, watching soccer, and playing cards. The food is authentic, prepared to perfection and delicious. The service is attentive. We ordered pitchers of red and white sangria, and if you take a few sips, you will be quickly refilled by the waiter. The paella was outstanding, and the lunch included warm rolls and a lentil soup. Also tried the garlic shrimp and a chicken dish in a brandy sauce. Portions are ample, we split three entrees among the four of us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusLawProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“True Spanish Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been here to eat several times and the atmosphere although quite similar to other Portuguese restaurants in Iron Bound Newark, is not typical in the food it serves. The feel is very family owned and the food is simply the closest to the region my family is from in the north of Spain. Prices are a little more than some other restaurants but well worth it in quality. The restaurant is separated by one wall with the old school Spanish/Portuguese bar on one side and the dining area on the other. We know you'll enjoy the atmosphere, food and amazingly, their own space to park your car! If you are familiar with Iron Bound, you'll know this is priceless when you have a reservation and your hungry. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EliasVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vasca also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing