We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vasca

Casa Vasca
Ranked #6 of 555 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Macungie,PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited this charming corner restaurant in Newark's Ironbound district after a college basketball game for lunch. There is off- street parking, which is a huge bonus in a place where residents double park! We entered through a bar where the locals were drinking, watching soccer, and playing cards. The food is authentic, prepared to perfection and delicious. The service is attentive. We ordered pitchers of red and white sangria, and if you take a few sips, you will be quickly refilled by the waiter. The paella was outstanding, and the lunch included warm rolls and a lentil soup. Also tried the garlic shrimp and a chicken dish in a brandy sauce. Portions are ample, we split three entrees among the four of us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusLawProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“True Spanish Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been here to eat several times and the atmosphere although quite similar to other Portuguese restaurants in Iron Bound Newark, is not typical in the food it serves. The feel is very family owned and the food is simply the closest to the region my family is from in the north of Spain. Prices are a little more than some other restaurants but well worth it in quality. The restaurant is separated by one wall with the old school Spanish/Portuguese bar on one side and the dining area on the other. We know you'll enjoy the atmosphere, food and amazingly, their own space to park your car! If you are familiar with Iron Bound, you'll know this is priceless when you have a reservation and your hungry. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EliasVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What A Surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was recommended to come here from a regular customer that lives across the street. I was at first thinking it was going to be like any regular restaurant that I have been to in Manhattan. Boy was I surprised. My table was not ready upon getting there, but the hostess and owner asked me to wait in the bar area. What a great idea!! The bartenders were super helpful and friendly and even changed the tv channel for us to watch the basketball game. How great was that?! Never has that happened.

Upon going into the dining room area we had a huge appetite and boy did we eat. The portions were more than we expected. The pulpo was amazing! The chorizo and shrimp and garlic to die for. I could not believe when we got the check how reasonable it was. I will definitely go back. We were only a party of 4 but I would definitely recommend the place to more colleagues of mine. 100% worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveTravels365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basque food Unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ourstanding food, service and value. Have run group events here. Couldnt be a better deal. Everyone took food home. Parking right next door and liquor licence too. Downside: people dont always like going to Newark. Otherwise seems safe.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ritafcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“decent seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not a great restaurant, but decent. Don't order beef, tasteless. The octopus with shrimp was very good. They cook paella with parboil rice instead of spanish rice. Must work for most, but if you are a connoisseur of spanish cuisine, you will not like their paella.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pappatequisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vasca also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing