We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Never disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Sangria

Spanish Sangria
Ranked #126 of 562 Restaurants in Newark
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Mainesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had been to this restaurant many times, and each time was not disappointed. The staff were pleasant, and service good. The only draw back were that tables were close together and some of the other patrons were rude, loud and constantly on their cellphones.
The shrimp in garlic sauce was my favorite as well as the sangria. I've moved out of the area, but if I were visiting the area, I would go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Returning after eight years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Our experience was so outstanding that I searched out the place, all the way from South Carolina.

We just happened upon the place and walked through the bar to get to the dining room.

Ignore the creepy neighborhood, the folks inside are muy simpático .

Helpful?
1 Thank Izzyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good seafood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

1 of the better seafood places I've been to the fish was cooked to perfection the sangria taste great highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smacker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing Restaurant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have been going to Spanish Sangria for 18 years I love it, the food is amazing, service is great, and the prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandritamahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed and embarrassed along with "I Got Caught"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

After 25 years of good food and great atmosphere I can no longer eat at this restaurant. I brought my family from out of town to eat and we had to leave within the first 10 minutes. Poor hygiene practices and a flip attitude from management is enough to keep us away permanently. What a shame! BEWARE! If you are brave enough to eat there. Keep your eyes open. You may question yourself when things are done right in front of your eyes and the behavior is so candid. Nasty still remains NASTY..........

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank lewandpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Sangria also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Sangria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing