We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is packed for a reason.”

Iberia Peninsula Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 586 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place is packed for a reason.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Iberia has two restaurants facing each other on Ferry Street. One very large and the other somewhat smaller. They are both very crowded and extremely noisy. But who cares. The food is plentiful and very good. Service is good for such a large crowd but not particularly attentive. The wait can be up to two hours during holiday season and just getting to a table is an accomplishment. Twin whole lobsters in garlic sauce for $30 or a monstrous and wonderful T-bone for about the same reward the wait. Classic Portuguese dishes like pork with clams and many others are all done very nicely. It's not the Algarve but as I said, it's well worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skipsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    26
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food Was Not Great”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant was not busy, and our waiter barely visited our table. He had regular friends at another table, and spent the whole evening talking to them. When we asked another waiter for desert menues, our original waiter came back with an attitude, and was surly the rest of the meal. Also, I asked for 2 crabs to go. They have a special for crabs. I got them home and tried to eat them that night. They were OLD AND DRY!! They are selling food that is dated and trying to pass it on to the customer. There are so many restaurants in the Ironbound section, we won't go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This was the worst!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were 6 people on a Sunday. The service was inadequate, the staff was aloof, but you can get past that if the food, which was highly rated by review, is good. The appetizers , included fried calamari, terrible, were not good. But the entrees were so overly salty , especially the rice, we barely ate it. The fish entrees had a strong smell of fish.

Such a disappointment, and expensive . Not worth a trip in my opinion. Maybe at one time in life this restaurant may have been good, not now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place for a big gathering or intimate date. The food is delicious with many choices. The rodizio(sp) is great as well as the paella. Sangria to die for! I recommend a reservation as it gets packed on the weekend!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NP_Terminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and good service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have visited Iberia Peninsula a few times and I am never disappointed. I can never finish my meal because the portions are large but worth the money. The seafood is always fresh and seasoned well. The wait staff is prompt and attentive. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food and a lovely atmosphere. It's great for couples and groups.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly1Only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberia Peninsula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing