We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rehearsal dinner fun!”

Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers
Ranked #10 of 571 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Newark Central Business District
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rehearsal dinner fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was there for a rehearsal dinner. We had the private room in the basement- super cozy. It was family style, and AMAZING! The servers just kept bringing out the food. It was delicious- garlicky shrimp were a favorite, as was the Seafood platter of amazingness! Sangria was a bit weak and tasteless, but they probably produce in mass quantities. The servers were bringing out bottles of beer, but stopped after about an hour or so? When asked for more, they denied us. I'm not sure if they were cutting us off, or that we hit the limit given to us by the bride and groom. Either way, we had a great time, great food! Not sure about the bar scene, reservations, cost, etc, since it was a rehearsal dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penelope_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    68
    27
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
265 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great for any occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Whether it's a table for two, a christening, repast or wedding reception, Don Pepe will meet your needs. Absolutely ginormous portions, with efficient wait staff make this a favorite. During the day it if filled with locals professionals from Newark including Seton Hall law School across the street and by evening the return of out of towners with people to celebrate something. Pepe and his wife Louisa never fail to impress with their cordial welcome. I've been going there for over 25 years and truly it an iconic stop. Easy to access off Rt. 21 or Penn Station. Fresh seafood daily and tasty sangria make for the perfect meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I go to this restaurant on our anniversary every year. My wife loves lobster and we have never been disappointed. They have great specials, this year I chose the Chilean Sea Bass.
It was a large portion and cooked to perfection. We went to their Pine-brook location. Great service and very good seafood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A NewaRK STAPLE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spanish food and lots of it is always available at Don Pepe. This is a Newark Landmark for ages and never disappoints. We like the shrimp in green sauce and the fried potatoes are orgasmic.
This restaurant is close to the New Jersey Performing Arts Center and the Baseball Stadium in Newark, NJ.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Spanish/Portuguese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Don Pepe is a short walk from Penn Station. The food is good, not great. My favorites are the Mariscada, and the suckling pig. The Spanish potatoes are excellent. And make sure to save room for flan for dessert. Like most European restaurants, they will not bring the check until you ask for it. There are lots of other good restaurants in the Ironbound section of Newark -and Ironbound is a very safe neighborhood, but Don Pepe is convenient for commuters and has reliably good food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers also viewed

 

Been to Don Pepe Restaurant & Caterers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing