We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for one night stopover”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night before moving to New York city. The best feature about the hotel was its front desk staff, very helpful and very efficient. Check-in and check-out took us less than two minutes. The breakfast is served on the first floor and is quite adequate.

I booked a room with kitchenette and the room itself was clean and equipped with all the essentials although I think the quality of the bed should be improved.

For a short stay in NJ I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't have any problem with noise on first floor except for the AC unit inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    343
    163
    58
    30
See reviews for
298
201
53
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for the second year in a row. The room was clean and the hotel is close to the airport. When we flew out in the morning we only had to wait 10 minutes for the next shuttle. On our return trip we were stuck at the airport pick up area in the rain waiting for the shuttle. Many other hotel shuttles went by time after time. Still no shuttle for the SpringHill Suites. After a 35 minute wait a SpringHill Suites shuttle finally arrived but there were so many people waiting for it, we could not all fit. Needless to say after a 5 hour flight, the last thing you want to do is stand in the rain and wind for 35 minutes waiting for a shuttle. Some people were waiting longer than us. More shuttles are needed! When we finally got to the hotel and tried to leave the parking lot, the machine said that we had a $75.00 balance and would not let us out of the gate. We had to have all of the cars behind us back up so we could turn around and go in to the lobby to resolve the issue. We were paid in full already so they gave us instructions to go back through and they would have to buzz us through. Overall our experience was not as good as the previous year. We will try another hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkovatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikolt B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Mkovatch,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty. I am disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered and can assure you that they are certainly not typical of the high standards we set for ourselves in these regards; our newly installed Parking Equipment should be in full working order. We take property repair and maintenance very seriously and work hard to ensure a problem free experience for each of our guests; with that being said, admittedly, we sometimes fall short. I apologize sincerely for any inconvenience created by the issues that you encountered.
While I cannot speak to your specific situation regarding the shuttle, I will say that providing this service is sometimes difficult as it is subject to the difficulties of passenger volume, traffic, weather, etc. With that said, we work hard to adhere to the published schedule.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
Regards,
SHSDOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My family stayed here back in April prior to a early AM flight the next morning. Hotel is conveniently located near the airport with shuttle service to Newark Airport. Nothing too fancy, we were only there to sleep that evening and get up early to the airport on time. Staff was very nice, shuttle drivers were great. I would stay again if I needed an EWR hotel option.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trav875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Ample parking and spacious rooms. This hotel has all the amenities you could need. Pool, hot tub, gym etc. the rooms are well appointed and spacious. Down side was that our room had the stench of cigarettes and close to the adjacent freeway. Must have been a joint in the road as every lorry that hit it gave out a loud 'thud thud thud'.
Glad we were shattered due to travelling a lot over the last month.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kentwoolgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikolt B, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Kentwoolgar,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
I can only apologize that your guestroom had an odor of cigarettes. This is completely unacceptable and I will be bringing this issue up with our Housekeeping team to ensure they identify and remove any odor before a guest enters the room. We take guestroom cleanliness and repair very seriously and work hard to ensure a problem free experience for each of our guests; with that being said, admittedly, we sometimes fall short.
I apologize again for any inconvenience created by the issue that you encountered.
We are certainly glad to know that your enjoyed other aspects of your recent stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here just to sleep on our way back from a long trip. We had a large room with a comfortable king bed and a sofa bed for our daughter, that was thankfully quiet, but that needed updating in its decor and linens (the bathroom towel/rug actually had a hole in it).

The buffet breakfast was OK, but they kept running out of things (not "out" as in they didn't have any more, but "out" as in they had to be replenished). The wait staffer assigned to this duty was obviously overworked in that she was the only one doing it and it looked like there were a couple of large groups that came in wanting breakfast. (Management should have taken this into account when setting up the buffet service schedule.)

The hotel is a real pain to get to. I don't know if it's usually like this or if it's because of the construction going on, but definitely take your GPS. The other very inconvenient thing is that aside from the breakfast buffet and the snacks available for sale, there is no food available for quite a distance (not including the so-called "bistro" at the Courtyard down the road). You either have to drive for miles to get to a restaurant, or get something delivered to you. Some low-to-mid priced restaurant would make a killing here if they opened one given that there are at least three Marriott properties on this same strip.

Room Tip: Get a room on a top floor away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikolt B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear TripLady5,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty. I am glad to hear you found or Guest Suites comfortable and convienient. I am disappointed to hear of the issue that you encountered during breakfast and can assure you that it is certainly not typical of the high standards we set for ourselves in these regards; our newly expanded Breakfast should always be fully replenished so that you don’t have to wait. I will be bringing your comments to the attention of the kitchen staff to ensure there is always a well-stocked breakfast buffet.
As you mentioned, we do not have a restaurant on-site, but do offer several delivery dining options to those whom are interested.
I apologize sincerely for any inconvenience created by the issues that you encountered.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again

Regards,
SHSDOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spacious, clean and nice enough standard for its star-rating.

Bed was comfortable. The property has a pool, which is a great plus although it tends to get busy and loud. Breakfast is included but is very plain and doesn't provide much quality of anything so don't have high expectations. The shuttle to the airport ran at a good schedule but account for enough time to take the Air train to your terminal or train to NY from where the drop off is.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedejetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikolt B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Swedejetsetter,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
I appreciate you making note of our complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. I am disappointed to hear of the issue that you encountered and can assure you that it is certainly not typical of the high standards we set for ourselves in these regards; our newly expanded Breakfast should always be of the highest quality and I will certainly follow up on the issues you encountered to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.
I apologize sincerely for any inconvenience created by the issue that you encountered.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
Regards,
SHSDOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I would prefer to call it 3½ star but it is better than 3. we stayed here on our way to the Dutch Antilles and one night stay on the way back. We were only there to sleep, 6 hours max. The shuttle was fine, finding it at the airport was challenging I had all the proper information to go to P4 for hotel shuttles but the lack of signage at the airport did not help but ounce on the shuttle it was all good. I am glad I did not have to drive like other comments it would be very hard to find. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all my questions. I cannot comment on breakfast as we had to leave very early but they have a little snack shop open 24/7 with snacks and microwavable dishes (you have to be pretty hungry!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you found us comfortable for your quick stop in Newark. I am pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 652 US Highway 1 and 9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Newark Airport hotels that are convenient, comfortable, and enjoyable choose SpringHill Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport. Our Newark International Airport hotel's accommodations and public spaces are thoughtfully appointed with a range of useful and beautiful amenities. We are an all-suite hotel that provides everything a business or leisure traveler needs for a pleasant stay in Newark, including spacious accommodations with free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV, a sofa bed, plush bedding, and a kitchenette. Our hotel's extra perks include a free daily breakfast buffet, a complimentary airport shuttle, and an indoor heated pool. Our location as a Newark International Airport hotel is ideal. We sit close to the airport, Prudential Center, NYC attractions, and Cape Liberty Cruise Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing