We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere, cute place, too loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 27 Mix

27 Mix
Ranked #135 of 571 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, cute place, too loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I took the NJ Transit from NYC to meet friends who were passing through Newark here. (They had a car for the day.) It was a good find close to the train station. The surrounding few blocks seemed to be a respite from Newark's general blight. The restaurant is visually very nice and the food was good. The only problem was that the band playing on the patio, where we were sitting, was so loud that we could not hear each other. This ruined our rare opportunity to catch up. We thought about moving inside, but the noise level from conversations there on a crowded Friday night wasn't much better. On a quieter night, or one without live music, it could have been a great spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Newark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A friend suggested that we have lunch here. I've worked in downtown Newark for just over a year and haven't had many good restaurant meals in town in all that time. This place was a nice surprise...much more similar to the type of NYC restaurants I was used to. There's a nice patio in the back. Nice and quiet, almost makes you forget you're in Newark. I had a chicken wrap and fries, both of which were very good. It's a little pricey for the neighborhood but the atmosphere and food are worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hadn't been there in several months. Place can be crowded at noon however since it is summer things are quieter. Had the 27 Mix salad special and it was amazing. I have never been disappointed in my meal there. Always love their bread and butter too! Love their outdoor seating area. They always make terrific drinks too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJReveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Tasting Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The past month I went to NJ for a tasting dinner. Some friend from Puerto Rico and some other from Cuba invited me over. We started with a couple of friends and we end up with 43 foodie guests.
I met the chef there. Vino, thanks for all. The food there is simple but good, well achieved. They have sort a mix, a combination of great taste from diverse cultures.
They are closed on sundays so they let us do the tasting there with their employes. They had the best attitude to work with and the work hard to make that dinner a success. Thanks to all those who made it possible. Im willing to do it again any time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VidaVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The atmosphere is very nice but this place is small. Therefore, on a busy night, you might wait for a seat. The service is slow but the food makes up for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 27 Mix also viewed

 

Been to 27 Mix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing