We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and bit noisy”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

It offers spacious and comfortable rooms. Bed and pillows are great. Some guests keep organising parties at rooms, then it can be a bit noisy.Location is good for both taking trains or going to airport. They offer a shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback GustavoTourist. I do apologize for any noise inconvenience while you were here. Our security that is on duty monitors for these kind of things so we will follow up with our team to ensure more attention to this. I am glad you enjoyed your spacious room and will also share your positive feedback about our rooms to our Housekeeping team.

Fondly,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    137
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
71
39
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

First time staying at this new hotel. Fantastic location, right next to the Prudential Center and walking distance to the Ironbound District and Newark Penn Station. Very friendly staff. Well-appointed and very clean room. Two good restaurants in same building as the hotel plus a cafe in the lobby. One suggestion, if you have trouble sleeping with street noises request a room on the back side of the hotel. Broad St in Newark is very busy and a lot of Police activity due to nearby headquarters building. Would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping with street noises request a room on the back side of the hotel. Broad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunForristRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and our location. We look forward to having you back.

Fondly,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night in March on business because it is very close to the Courthouse. Very nice experience. Second floor lobby with a small bar and a number of seating areas . Looked new or recently renovated in the standard Courtyard style. Room was clean and stylish. A bit small and the closet would be cramped for more than a day or two stay. Still, quite comfortable with a large screen flat TV, goodly number of channels, good lighting and comfortable chair. Small sofa and coffee table. Shower (no tub) was spacious with good water pressure. Water had a tendency to leak a bit on the floor. Bathroom a nice size for this type of hotel. Room was quiet except for the HVAC which, as is typical in Marriotts, seemed to be louder than necessary. Service at check in, check out, and the bar was good. Didn't strike me as being the nicest part of downtown but I don't know the city at all. Breakfast in the morning was good with typical decent Marriott oatmeal and fruit.

Because I arrived late and left early I didn't have time to do much in the hotel, but I thought it a very good, comfortable place for a night's stay for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. If you have any needs in the future please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were in Newark for a concert at the Prudential Center and decided to stay at this hotel. Best choice! Right from the start we were treated as someone special. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, which got us off to a good start, and as the weekend progressed and staff changed, the standard was maintained. Our room was nothing but excellent, clean, tidy and welcoming. The bed was just right and the facilities in the room left nothing to be desired. We were staying three nights, but would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel has a bistro in the lobby and, even here, the staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, warm and reasonable. This is not a cheap hotel but absolutely value for money. The complimentary shuttle made getting to and from Liberty International easy. Even at checkout you felt that the staff did not want you to leave, but appreciated that you had to. There is nowhere else we would stay on our next visit to Newark. I had planned this visit as a special treat for my wife on our fiftieth wedding anniversary and I could not have chosen better. Thank you Courtyard, thank you Nicholas (the manager) and thank you staff. Have a good year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pictureseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are thrilled we were able to help make your anniversary special. We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I just completed a three night stay and my only regret is that I didn't discover this hotel for a previous stay. The hotel is attractive and clean, everything in the room worked well and the bed was comfortable. All the staff members greeted me warmly and Alyse, who checked me an out, was just the front desk person every hotel should be lucky to have - she's outgoing, friendly and very efficient. I usually opt to stay in Newark for my visits to the NY area. The train station is a short four or five block away and there is direct train service straight to Penn Station and PATH trains that go to lower Manhattan. This is a great hotel option for the NY area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hleong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Newark Downtown. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to recognize Alyse for her efforts.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

"Elise" is how I heard her name on the phone, but her name tag spelled it differently - Alese? Alyse? In any case, she was great. Knows how to take care of a Marriott Platinum Premier Elite member, although I get the idea that she would take care of anyone just as well. The hotel itself is a perfect oasis in an area that's a little rough. My family and I never felt unsafe, but we're not used to a Marriott property literally across the street from a pawn shop and a bail bond office. Make sure you go to Hobby's Deli, a 4 minute walk away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Not on the street side - sirens and other noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we will be sure to recognize Alyse for her outstanding service.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for just one evening as we were in town for a friend's birthday celebration. This hotel is immaculate, modern, and has very welcoming friendly staff. The rooms were nicely furnished. Typical of a Courtyard style. The price was great, in fact I convinced some friends to cancel their more expensive reservations at the Hilton and to stay here. They were glad they did.
There is a very nice lobby with ample seating and a coffee/ snack bar. My only complaint, which is really only personal preference is that they serve only Starbucks coffee which I detest! There were no local shops or cafes open on a Sunday morning where I could get a regular cup of coffee. The local merchants seem to be shut up tight on the weekend mornings.
The location is great as it is right next to the Prudential Center. In fact I'll be returning soon to attend a Devils hockey game. Nice to know there's a reliable and safe place to stay.
When in Newark, do not hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're so glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and see how close we are to the Prudential Center! If you prefer Dunkin Donuts' coffee there is a location just 2 blocks away from the hotel. Thank you for staying with us!

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Property: Courtyard Newark Downtown
Address: 858 Broad St, Newark, NJ 07102-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Downtown boasts an innovative design, modern amenities, and thoughtful services. As the newest of downtown Newark hotels, guests will feel welcomed in our modern lobby and new guest rooms, providing greater flexibility and more choices. Unique among other hotels in downtown Newark, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) - serves fresh, café-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and evening cocktail service. Guests can also take advantage of our multifunctional lobby with communal table for meeting with friends and colleagues, business center with free printing services, and complimentary high-speed Internet. As an added feature, further differentiating us from other downtown Newark hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. Our downtown Newark hotel features comfortable accommodations for guests to relax and unwind after an eventful day. The Courtyard Newark Downtown offers guests a brand new experience on travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing