We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

At first we had a little glitch checking in but after about 20 mins it all worked out just fine. It is so hard to find a hotel in NYC that one can afford but this one filled the bill. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Path Line is only about a 7 - 10 minute walk and then you are on your way to NYC, or you could take the free shuttle they offered. The hotel is pretty new and was very clean, you had to use your room key in the elevator (which I loved) if you wanted to go up to the 3rd floor or higher. They had a little deli across the street where we bought dinner and I was pleasantly surprise how good the food was...Round trip ticket on the Path line runs around $4.50. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    135
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
69
38
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a tough hotel to rate. It is a nice enough hotel and a potentially good location (see what comes next though).

First the good....staff was nice, hotel was new, rooms were clean, decent fitness center, it was half a block from the Pru Center.

Now the bad.....woe is the traveler who does not heed the other warnings regarding the parking situation during events at the Pru Center. We came back from dinner one night just as a hockey game was finishing. It took us quite a while to go the final 8 blocks to the hotel only to find that, because of traffic rerouting, it was literally impossible to get to the parking garage that the hotel uses. I mean literally. So one of us sat in the car on the street for almost 40 minutes until they re-opened the street . This was a 11 pm in a pouring rain after a long day of travel. My quarrel with the hotel is twofold. First, the possibility of this occurring was never mentioned to us when we checked in. Something along the lines of "the parking garage is inaccessible between the hours of blah, blah, blah so plan accordingly." Second, how a hotel can even expect to operate under those conditions is beyond me. Seriously? You know there will be many times when guests cannot park to get to the hotel and haven't figured out a solution? BTW, I recently went back to the area and spent the night at a different Newark airport property specifically because I was arriving around 9:30 pm and did not want to risk a replay of this fiasco.

A second quibble with the property is that the Bistro is only open certain hours although Starbucks coffee is theoretically available 24 hours. First issues is that there is no sign to indicate that. Then once you decipher than you can get a coffee during off hours, the reception has to page someone to come over to make it. Finally, after reading half a USA Today while waiting, you can't actually pay at the Bistro but instead have to go over to the reception to pay. The two areas are very close but if there are people lined up to check in or out, this process can take 15 minutes or more just to get a hot cup of coffee. Kind of annoying frankly.

In summary, if I were going to an event or meeting in downtown Newark, the place would be a good option. But for transit travelers who have other options that are equally convenient, there is too much baggage with this place to make it a top choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekGuyGeorgiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband, daughter (10) and I stayed here so we could attend a concert at the Prudential Center. The hotel is new and everything was fresh and clean. The service at check in was great! Our room was a decent size but be aware that it can be loud if you are overlooking the street. The parking is a bit strange, but not too much of an issue. We would absolutely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed one night. Great location. New, clean & quiet. The staff is pleasant. Check in & out was quick and without incident. Accommodated late check out request. Good buffalo wings. Although not a deal breaker, I didn't care for the parking arrangement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel while doing business in Newark. It was in close proximity to the federal courthouse. Overall this hotel was great. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was very nice. I had an issue which management addressed. What was great was the follow up from management, that you rarely get from hotel management at other hotels. I used their shuttle service to and from the hotel which was wonderful. I will have to travel more to Newark for work and I think I will always choose this hotel for my future stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarArly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate your review StarA00. We look forward to seeing you soon, please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is anything I can assist you for your further travels.

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

New York transit is only about a 10 minute walk and then another 20 minute ride into Penn Station, NYC. It is so hard to find a hotel in NYC that one can afford but this one filled the bill. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Just what you would expect from a Courtyard Hotel. There didn't seem to be anything decent with regards to restaurants in the local area so I think NYC is a good choice. Round trip ticket on NJ Transit runs around $10.00

Room Tip: If you drive your car there, they charge you $21.00 for the night. You go inside and get your ticke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A week before my stay, I received an email from the manager welcoming me along with parking instructions as well as information on the shuttle. Staff at the front desk as well as the bistro were friendly and the lounge area is really welcoming. Rooms were really nice and large.
Just be careful, the shuttle cost 25.00 and its only a 5 minute ride.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexsandra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Alexsandra. Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For future stays at our hotel please know that we provide a complimentary shuttle for our guests to Newark Penn Station and Newark Airport. If something different occurred during your stay please contact me directly at the hotel (973) 848-0070.

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Property: Courtyard Newark Downtown
Address: 858 Broad St, Newark, NJ 07102-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Downtown boasts an innovative design, modern amenities, and thoughtful services. As the newest of downtown Newark hotels, guests will feel welcomed in our modern lobby and new guest rooms, providing greater flexibility and more choices. Unique among other hotels in downtown Newark, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) - serves fresh, café-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and evening cocktail service. Guests can also take advantage of our multifunctional lobby with communal table for meeting with friends and colleagues, business center with free printing services, and complimentary high-speed Internet. As an added feature, further differentiating us from other downtown Newark hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. Our downtown Newark hotel features comfortable accommodations for guests to relax and unwind after an eventful day. The Courtyard Newark Downtown offers guests a brand new experience on travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing