We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Noisy neighborhood, but nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy neighborhood, but nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is nice, the service was really pleasant. People were really helpfull. I asked for help to get out of Newark and they printed the google maps information for me. The room was okay, i found out that the sheets were pleated before i got in the bed... But still okay.

One major point : I stayed a night with a show at the Prudential Center. Many of the people in the hotel rooms were going at the show (including myself and my friend). We had a room with a view (if i can call it a view) on a side of the Prudential center (a wall). It was incredibly noisy all night long and the morning there were construction near. I couldn't sleep much because of this. The wall seems to be really thin too, since i could hear the neighbor talking loud.
It's really the only thing that I had problems with.

The parking was not that bad to find, it is outside the Courtyard, and there is no door to go inside of the hostel from the parking, so you had to walk out of the parking and get inside the hostel after. The main desk of the hostel to check-in, check-out and to buy food is on the second floor.

I would go again with no problem if i had to go in Newark, but i would choose to have a room not close to the Prudential Center. We were two girls, and walking in the neighborhood was scary passing 10 PM.

Room Tip: Chose a room not at the side of the Prudential Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    130
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
37
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, across the street from Prudential HQ and behind the Prudential Center Arena it is brand new up to date and very nice. Area around the hotel still on the "rise" not quite there yet, but is a nice step up even from the Hilton Hotel near Penn Station. Very nice spot to stay. Staff was phenomenal and free shuttle to airport was great also.

Room Tip: Top floor was solid especially on the non-broad street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theJbird19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is decent, but not in the nicest of areas. While the area is probably safe, it doesn't look it with all the run down buildings around. The service was adequate but no one went beyond the call of duty or was helpful. THey just did their job. The parking situation was confusing with no one really knowing what to do in the lot. You do have to exit the lot and go outside to go through the front entrance of the hotel. The room was decent, but the bed faced the window and was somewhat awkward. I probably wouldn't stay here again for the value received for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Flew in for a Rush concert at the Prudential Center, which is directly next door to the hotel. I had Room 711 ( advance purchase price of $111 plus taxes, a great deal ) and this King room was perfect. Not one thing I can say bad about this place. Friendly staff. Granted downtown Newark seemed a bit sketchy but that does not detour from this Courtyard. So if you headed to the Pru Center for a concert, game, etc. check this one out. For shows like the upcoming Rolling Stones this place will easily sell out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reno76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel just opened. I cannot remember staying at a Courtyard so I did not know what to expect. The hotel being new was SPOTLESS. The help was extremely courteous and helpful. The location cannot be beat as it is right next door to the Prudential Center. I did not eat at the hotel. The prices looked on par with other hotel restaurants. Being in such a iffy neighborhood, their was 24 hour security guard and the elevator was restricted to card key holders. Sitting here, I can think of only one annoyance and that was no shower cap for my wife! But that wold never keep me from not staying there again! If I go to another concert at the Pru, I would definitely stay at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

They had been open for only three weeks when we stayed there and so the rooms were wonderful and new! The staff was excellent, one of the maintenance workers went downstairs and got us new keys when we lost ours, which was beyond his duties. But I will definitely be staying here again when I have to go to the city!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
643 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our recent trip to NYC for a marathon we opted for this hotel instead of the NYC rates that were over twice as much. It is a newly opened Courtyard so everything looks terrific. Our number one concern was security and we were pleased. The hotel has a 24 hour security guard on the 1st floor and elevators restrict access to card holders. We walked to Newark Penn Station during the day and felt perfectly safe. Probably would've taken a taxi at night. The trains into NYC were a 20 minute ride.......and from there took the subway. An attached parking garage also has 24 hour attendant and for $21/day is a bargain compared to NYC.
We'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Newark city views in all directions. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm glad you have a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the area. We hope you come back to see us soon.

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Property: Courtyard Newark Downtown
Address: 858 Broad St, Newark, NJ 07102-2611
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Downtown boasts an innovative design, modern amenities, and thoughtful services. As the newest of downtown Newark hotels, guests will feel welcomed in our modern lobby and new guest rooms, providing greater flexibility and more choices. Unique among other hotels in downtown Newark, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) - serves fresh, café-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and evening cocktail service. Guests can also take advantage of our multifunctional lobby with communal table for meeting with friends and colleagues, business center with free printing services, and complimentary high-speed Internet. As an added feature, further differentiating us from other downtown Newark hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. Our downtown Newark hotel features comfortable accommodations for guests to relax and unwind after an eventful day. The Courtyard Newark Downtown offers guests a brand new experience on travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing