We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and ambiance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adega Grill

Adega Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Adega Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 555 Restaurants in Newark
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Monroe & Madison
Description: With an accommodating and quaint atmosphere, Adega Grill in Newark is the hottest new place in the Ironbound section. Inspired by its name, Adega, meaning wine cellar in Portuguese, the motif of the decoration is of vineyards and wine making. From the moment you enter, tones of old world yellows, stone fireplaces, wrought iron cellar gates and sconces, soft candlelight, coves with upholstered sofa seating and friendly staff, it's an undeniable inviting space, nothing short of extraordinary. Two special occasion tables with antique throne chairs and live piano music add to the intimacy. Two romantic dining rooms cater to an elegant crowd, while the long narrow bar gathers a friendly and fun bunch nightly. The cuisine truly upholds the name of Fine Portuguese/Spanish Dining, seafood and fish, organic meats, the freshest ingredients and to maintain the tradition, huge portions are to be expected. The menu is seasonal and in addition to a varied selection of delectable dishes to satisfy any palette, daily specials are always featured. The wine list with over 180 selections is an ambitious one that keeps growing, but sure not to disappoint the discriminating connoisseur.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I go to Adega all the time. The food and service is always great. Call ahead for a reservation, especially on the weekends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    9
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Can't believe that this is the same as the Adega Bar and Restaurant at the same address that has a number of very good reviews, but also some very poor ones. My wife and I just had dinner there on a Thursday night. We loved the decor. But the food and service were truly outstanding. We were promptly seated at a nice table, our orders were taken promptly and the perfectly prepared food came out promptly. Servers repeatedly asked us if everything was satisfactory and if we required anything else. They also refilled our wine and water glasses numerous times. We enjoyed both seafood and veal. And the portions were huge. We will get at least one more dinner at home from what we were unable to finish at the restaurant. My wife and I have traveled the world- Europe, southeast Asia, South and Central America. We just spent 2 1/2 weeks in Greece, eating terrific food. But I can truly say that this was one of the more memorable meals I have enjoyed in a long time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by hotel staff. It is about a 20 minute cab ride fromthe Doubvletree and Newark Airport. The emophasis is on seafood prepared in the Portugese tradition. Our party had various dishes from shellfish to finfish, and all six of us very happy wiuth iour meals. TYhe atmosphere is traditional. The bar is downstairs. The upstairs is much nicer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great food, great ambiance. Never saw so much nice food in one plate. Great service. Very nice personnel

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MtlTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a tourist trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Most of the restaurants in Ironbound are geared to tourists who want to have the 'authentic' experience of Portuguese food. Here you actually get it in a smallish restaurant with helpful waiters and superb cuisine. The menu is not as extensive as some of the larger places in Ironbound - but you can only eat one meal at a time anyway! Everyone eating there seemed local to Newark; couples, groups from the office, friends from out of town with locals. The paella is more than enough for two people - very tasty and with fresh seafood cooked to order.

I'd go back there any time I was in the area. It isn't that far from EWR.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zandz-lx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adega Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing