We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place near Newark airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good place near Newark airport”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean and reasonably comfortable. However, if you don't have a car, the dining options are very limited for dinner. There was a restaurant walking distance from the hotel at the Courtyard but ultimately we opted to go to the Renaissance which entailed taking the hotel shuttle to a meeting point at the airport for hotel shuttles and then picking up the Renaissance shuttle. We were fortunate in our timing but the trip could have taken much longer had we not planned it carefully.

Wifi was free and worked well. The staff was efficient and friendly. For the price it is a good choice.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhiker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    235
    103
    30
    24
See reviews for
150
117
51
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Drove to this hotel, going on a cruise out of
Cape Liberty. VERY difficult to find if you're not familiar with Newark roads! Made a reservation for room and car parking. Was quoted the wrong price for long-term parking and I had asked twice if price she was quoting me over phone was correct. Manager adjusted the price for us and we were very pleased especially since they do not have a shuttle to and from the port (taxi was $50.00 each way and hotel will arrange when you arrive if you ask). Hotel lobby, breakfast area, exercise room, and room were very clean, decor good, beds great, staff excellent--very kind and helpful, have laundry and pool, complimentary breakfast good, no restaurant but casual Bistro next door at another hotel. Wish they had a shuttle service to and from the port even if we had to pay, it might be less expensive than the taxi rate. They only reason we would not stay here again, if we're driving, is the cost of the taxi. Might need to look for a closer hotel to the port or one with a port shuttle service.

Room Tip: Did hear planes from airport but not overly loud. Ask if any side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjbb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Picked up from EWR in a free shuttle - the driver was polite and helpful.
At check in the night manager was fast polite & let us know lots of information about the hotel that we didn't know or expect.

The room was simple but very comfortable, the AC a touch loud, beds well made and comfortable, shower good and everything very clean.
Unexpected bonus was a basic but free breakfast and 24hr tea and coffee & fruit baskets in the lobby.

Not bad but fairly strange was the choice of carpet - lime green and black squares - ick.

Overall a surprise for a airport hotel, if only this property was in NYC!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than planned and checked in early with no problems. Room was quiet, neat, & clean. I left my favorite nightgown at the hotel. I am very happy that their housekeeping department saved it and it is on its way back through FedEx. Thank-you Jackie!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong at a Marriott. They just upgraded TV sets to all HD Channels. finally. VERY DIFFICULT to get to. In plain sight, but confusing roads. Very comfortable bed. Polite staff, problem with AMEX. Manager came out and solved problem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel must have been carpet cleaned recently as the smell was very strong in both the reception area and our room.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is not close by Jersey Garden Mall and requires to take a shuttle back to the airport (P4) to then catch a shuttle to the mall.

The shuttle to the airport is scheduled to leave every 30 minutes. However, that day the bus driver was not reliable when we needed to go to the airport to catch our flight (and we had booked the departure with the shuttle the night before). On Aug. 26, we had to wait 45 minutes for him and this made our international travel extremely stressful. The front desk staff call him repeatedly and were as helpful as they could be. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I love this hotel! Clean and comfortable. Right across the street from the airport yet I never heard any aircrafts taking off or landing. All 3 Marriott hotels (Courtyard, Fairfield Inn and Suites and Springhill Suites sit side by side. Each have their breakfast buffets but the on site bistro was located in the Courtyard. A small walk beautiful urban style lounge. Spacious and inviting. Flat screen tvs, Internet access, really nice ambiance. The food was pricey but delicious. The rooms have an urban design and could accommodate 2 adult, 2 children or 1 more adult in a roll out bed. If you have a car I strongly suggest you drive to Newark Penn Station and park in the public garage. $20 all day and staff is on duty watching your vehicle. If the garage doors are down when you return to you car, don't panic *as we did* go around to the side door on Raymond Street and ring the door bell so you can be let into the parking garage. Secured building. Get a bus card for the PATH, 2 or more people's fare can be or on one card. Scan it, walk through, pass your card back to the next person. The PATH will take you to Journal Station where you can transfer to go to Penn Station New York, or you can stay on the train and take i it to the WTC. This is the best way to travel to NYC if you have a car. The downside of this hotel. ... getting there off the Highway. Atrocious! No markers to say exit at such and such. You are driving and your gps will suddenly say "your destination is on the right". WT....? I had to swiftly cut across 3 lanes, slow down into oncoming traffic from the rear and exit. Risky and horrible! Took me 2 days to train my brain to get it right on the 3rd try.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Coffee service is available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing