We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but need a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good hotel but need a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

took the shuttle from the airport. good room, comfortable enough. sitting area. microwave in room.
what was woefully lacking were restaurants. there were I believe 3 or 4 similar properties, ours had an express shot selling frozen fair. we took 2 pizzas for the microwave for lunch, they were dreadful.
at one of the sister properties they had something more for serving dinner. it was a little better. but very limited selection. the seating was to the side of the lobby.
hindsight being 20/20 we would have ordered in from another restaurant.
it served the need. we took a cruise after the one night from the bayonne dock. the shuttle driver solicited us for the drive to the airport. he charged 45.00 but worked out fine. traffic bad over the bridge.

Room Tip: nothing specific. breakfast good however seating was limited and very very crowded, it was include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    229
    101
    27
    21
See reviews for
144
113
51
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Machias, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

When we arrived we went to check out the room before unpacking. I thought I had booked a room with a fridge and microwave and there was not either in the room, so I go to the desk and they tell me, only their suites have a fridge and microwave. The man at the desk says " not to worry, we will put you in a suite for the same price as the first room." Great! When we woke up the next morning, I noticed a few ants on the desk where I was sitting, so we hull everything out of that room and load it in the car. On our way out, I stop at the desk again and tell them of the ants, the girl was very good, and says " we have another suite available, we will move you to that one." The third we had was perfect, no problems at all. The breakfast was amazing, hot and cold food to choose from, very good coffee! Pool and hot tub area very nice too. Hotel shuttle was very good... Nothing bad to say. Everyone at the Fairfield Inn & Suites at Liberty International was very accommodating and very friendly and helpful.... Would stay again! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Marriott hotels are on the top of my list for a lot of reasons. This was a unplanned stop over, it was easy to check in, large, clean room and right at the airport for an easy exit the next morning. The bed was excellent compared to the hotel the previous night.

Room Tip: Stick with one chain as much as you can, you will reap the benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Fairfield is very close to Newark airport, so we stayed there after flying in from Europe before we picked up our rental car the next day. Staff was friendly,the rooms are small but clean and there is a hot breakfast included in the room rate. On the down side, if you want to have dinner on site, your only option is to walk down the road to a courtyard Marriott, which has a "bistro" with a small menu, rather overpriced. Also the hotel is noisy at night since you are so close to the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My recent usa trip was best as I travelled with my family. We had flight cancelation so air line gave us voucher to stay in this hotel. We took shuttle and we were there in few min. It was just across the air port. We checked in and went to room it was nice and clean. Specious as well. Internet works well. The staff was friendly and helped us with our question. We had good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narsinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. It's a nice enough hotel and relatively convenient to the airport. To get the hotel from the airport, if you want to take their shuttle, it leaves just twice an hour. You also need to take the airport tram to the airport pickup area. So you can expect to spend at least 30 minutes to an hour to get to the hotel. The same for the shuttle coming back, but at least you have a bit more control over that. I was stayed here and used the shuttle, tram, train to get to NYC. It really took a fair amount of planning but doable. If you get a car, the hotel is the midst of a maze of roads which make it a challenge to reach, although they have put more signage.

The rooms are roomy and well equipped,wireless internet is good. The serve a reasonable breakfast but for dinner, you'll need to go out and there is nothing close by. This time, I picked up something to go in the airport and took it with me.

Room Tip: This was my first time staying on the west side of the hotel and I did notice a lot more noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxLonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

There is a cluster of hotels at this offsite location central to Newark's Liberty airport. We used a search engine and booked this one because of price ($148) and airport shuttle, especially important at 4:30 am.
There is a strange odor throughout the hotel, particularly on hallways and elevator. The carpets are dirty. Really dirty. Sweaty dirty. Wear socks to bed dirty. The room also smelled. The ac was working (92 degrees outside) but sputtered and groaned throughout the night chugging through its on and off cycle. The vent was caked with dust. We were breathing that circulated air. The bed was comfortable but both me and my son woke with little bites on our necks, legs and backside. Notice I didn't say bedbugs. As for food, and if you don't want a bag of chips or a cookie, you must walk along the service road parallel to the highway, and visit the neighboring hotel (courtyard by Marriott) and get something from their bistro's limited menu. We had decent hummus and raw vegetables. Wine and beer were also available at the bistro should you want to numb your senses before heading back to the staff friendly but rank Fairfield Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Coffee service is available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing