We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb value, very clean and competitive hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb value, very clean and competitive hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a free shuttle bus from station P4 at Newark airport. Use it!! If you are on a fly drive, renting a car from the airport, make sure you research the exact route in advance. The address could not be found on the sat nav. You can see the hotel from the roads around the airport, it's really not far, but the route is via an extremely complex system of feeder roads, one way roads, highway intersections and round an old scrap yard. All this, in the dark and for the first time, can be intimidating. We visited the hotel for a second time (because it was very good) from a slightly different direction, during the day, and still found it very hard to find. If you miss one single turn, you can be miles away before getting to turn back!!

That said, what a budget priced gem of a hotel when you get there. Very clean, modern standard rooms, dark conditions and quiet. All you need really in an airport hotel. For £68 we had a family of four room and as much breakfast as we could help ourselves to in the morning. There is even a spa and pool, but we didn't get a chance due to time constraints. We really were amazed at the price. Also, we used this place to park our car while we spent a weekend in NYC at another hotel in Manhattan. It was only 15 dollars a day, compared to the stress of driving into NYC and parking at as much as fifty dollars a day.

However, do not take the taxi from the hotel. Not directly a hotel employee, but he fleeced us for a one way trip of 100 dollars. Ok, there are toll charges but still, terrible value. Go instead to the airport and get the train to Penn Station and thereafter the subway. Much cheaper. 12 dollars 50 cents per person one way.

Above all, I would stay here again if I was using Newark airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    219
    98
    23
    18
See reviews for
127
110
51
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Even though this hotel is close to Newark Airport, it's difficult to find - more so at night. Take the wrong turn and you will end up in downtown Newark. And using GPS did not help us navigate here either. Hotel staff had to verbally walk us through how to get here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

For the price at the airport in North Jersey, this could not be beat. Nice, consistent Fairfield that did a pretty decent job of soundproofing considering its proximity to the airport. I have to say that I am happy I did not drive though, as it was a maze to get from the airport to the hotel despite the fact that you could see it from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcarragh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a good hotel to stay when travelling to Newark (rated #4 in the area). I stayed there for 4 days on a family emergency. It is within a couple of miles of Liberty Airport. Though there isn't a restaurant close by, there is a hotel shuttle, that takes you to the airport. There you can get transportation to anywhere in Newark or a train to NYC, which gets you there in 25 minutes.Breakfast incl., also has a pool. Would be rated excellent if there was eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Hotel is located next to it's companion Marriott hotel. No industry or noise . Very quiet locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joediaz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I still do not know how I made it to the hotel after circling around airport highways for 75 minutes. If you are not from local, do not rent a car and drive to the hotel. Take the hotel shuttle and pick up the car rental the next day.

The hotel is not on the PPI of the GPS and the address is not helpful either. If you have to drive, please know the courtyard, springhill suites and Fairfield are close to each other.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zxrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a side note: the roads are under construction and this hotel is very difficult to find.

We arrived at 1am after a long day of travel, and were traveling from out of state. The staff knew all of that information. We were told that the debit card was declined, so we then tried a credit card that was also declined. We tried two other peoples cards, from different providers and accounts. We called the bank to see if we had any travel holds, and the bank spoke with the front desk staff and said that there were multiple authorizations from the hotel and that they could see the transactions.

The front desk still said that our cards were declined and that we would not be able to get a room. They offered to let us put a large cash deposit and stay for 1 night, when we had booked the room for 3 nights.

The hotel said that there was nothing that they could do, even after charging 4 cards, multiple times for various amounts. The staff said that they couldn't help with anything and that the system messed up but they couldn't call anyone to assist or find a way for us to get a room for an evening.

It then took about 1 week to get the holds off of 4 different accounts from the hotel, that said that our cards didn't work there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cl2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Only stayed here one night, but was impressed by the facility. Very nice suite. Excellent furnishings and amenities. Very quiet, considering it borders Newark Airport and Route 1-9.

Desk staff and shuttle drivers work their butts off. My only complaint is that finding the hotel is a challenge. Navigating the maze of highways around Newark is mind-boggling. The address and directions on the website are very little help to GPS.

Next time I have an early morning flight out of Newark, I will probably choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience whether staying 1 night, before or after your flight, or several nights as an alternative to the New York City high prices. Boasting 162 Guest rooms with 80 suites, you are bound to find the right room to meet your need. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet that waffles, eggs, breakfast meats yogurt, and much more. Let's not forget the coffee service available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer commentary Wi-Fi, and a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. When you arrive at your room, you will greeted with colorful rooms that are well appointed and offer you a flat screen TV that allows you to review over 50 channels from ESPN to Showtime and much more, an in room-coffee maker, large desktop workspace and a comfortable bed to relax and recharge yourself for the next day. If you are looking for a little exercise, check out our on-site fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights and our indoor pool and spa. Additionally the hotel can assist you with a safe area to jog if you need to run in the open air. If you need to do some laundry, we have 2 options for you. We offer both valet laundry and we also offer self-service laundry on our 1st Floor. And if you need a snack or a soft drink, check out "the Market" next to the front desk. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. If you are traveling to the area for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport is the place to stay for a great nights rest and even better service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing