We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value for the money, shuttle service is good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for the money, shuttle service is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I gave up on finding cheap hotel in ny, so i stayed here since my plane detparts from newark, commuting to ny is easy with shuttles + train, rooms are big and clean, though noisy at night when there's movement in the corridor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khalilsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    375
    213
    101
    96
See reviews for
290
302
120
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with decent amenities near Newark Airport, consider the Best Western. Not located in a particularly scenic spot, but the rooms are nice and clean and it comes with a number of nice amenities such as free shuttle to airport and train station, free breakfast, and fridge and microwave in the room. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the shuttle service gets you where you need to go. A good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Free courtesy bus from airport was unexpected - meet at P4 on the Air Tran from terminal. Service runs about every 30 mins. The hotel is situated off a main road in the middle of a scruffy barren area with a few car parks around it. No local conveniences/services. You are stuck with hotel or a taxi ride.
Quick check in even with computer system down.Rooms large but dark. King size bed very comfortable. Room had microwave. Bathroom was large, great powerful shower. Hotel had bar/restaurant with a limited menu but food was enjoyable. Cold beers were welcomed after the flight from UK.
All staff were very friendly, overall a great place for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryhammond8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We flew into Newark & were sailing out of Bayonne, NJ the next day. Hotel picked us up at the airport very promptly after we called with luggage in hand. Our flight arrived around 1030 a.m. and since the hotel had been full the evening before our room was not yet ready. Hotel stored our luggage and then provided us with shuttle service to the train station and instructions on how to get to the World Trade Center in New York City. When we arrived back in Newark we called the hotel and they, once again very promptly, had their shuttle pick us up at the train station and returned to our hotel where we had a wonderful room waiting for us. Luggage was still safely stored for us until we claimed it. Room was very clean and spacious, and the breakfast the next morning was very adequate, warm and plentiful. We had made arrangements upon check-in for our trip to the port which was provided on time, shuttle was clean and not overcrowded. When we disembarked our ship a week later we presented a voucher that we had been given prior to boarding our ship and were immediately whisked away to the airport. Very smooth and timely trip to the airport at no additional charge to us.

This hotel is located very close to the airport but it is quiet. Also located in an area which is not a great walking or dining area due to the fact it is near a highway, airport and airport car parks - but it is very quiet and the food in the hotel is good and plentiful.

Thank you very much for your hospitality and quiet, clean stay in your hotel. We will stay again when we sail out of Bayonne and will recommend your hotel to our sailing/cruising friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sde Boker, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I wanted a one day in Manhattan on my way back home from a business trip, as I was paying for this night from my own pocket I looked for a quality price, I flaw in and out from Newark airport, thought it will be a good idea to save money and stay in the airport cheaper hotels and not in Manhattan. I chose this hotel for the price, it was cheap, and I had a good experience with best western hotel in the past.
Well, this was a terrible stay for me. The room I have received had a distinct smell of wet paint, I couldn't keep the window close due to the smell, and as you may imagine sleeping with a window open in an airport is not so good idea.
The bad was too soft, the shower was not in a good nick. The corridors were crowded with teenagers holding beer cans. I didn't expect for much (I paid 80$) just a place to have a good night sleep. I guess this was too much to ask for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. Originally only planned the one night but decided that it was close enough to New York for us to travel in every day. We really enjoyed being able to use the shuttle into the railway station at Newark everyday. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit dark and lighting not in the best places. Clean and comfortable. Would certainly recommend it to others. The breakfast of a morning was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordyclaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel and friendly staff. The only problem is there is nothing around it. You need to catch a shuttle everywhere if you don't have a vehicle. They do have a shuttle they provide to take you to the train station but if its not within certain time 7AM-11AM or 7PM-11PM then there is a charge. Other than that a great deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.9 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. Guests can also take advantage of our "Park and Fly" package where you can stay one night and park a car for up to 10 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing