We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport Hotel - Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Airport Hotel - Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed a weekend here as part of a United Airlines weekend vacation package. In reality, we booked a couple of days earlier--we needed to be in Newark and we needed a place to stay. We found the hotel to be clean, the entire staff friendly and helpful, the food great, the shuttle service efficient and on-time. We agree totally with the other positive reviews. One caveat alluded to in another review, it is buried in an industrial section behind the airport. You are not going to walk downtown to the Newark Symphony. However, their excellent shuttle service (and they have the number to a taxi/driving service, which we used) will get you to and from the airport & the airport station, which has Amtrak, Jersey Coast, Path train service to New York, Trenton, Philadelphia and the greater Newark area as well as other transportation options to entertainment/sport/sight seeing venues. We would and will be staying here again earlier next year. Hats off to everyone at the BW Plus International Way & thanks for a great stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank klfwwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    403
    232
    107
    101
See reviews for
305
337
129
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel really is in the middle of nowhere sandwiched between the airport service road and the railroad track. It is accessed via a truck yard or what looks like one and I think it is a converted warehouse. Rooms are basic and very dated, bathroom was ok, but the carpet was tacky and it was cold. Bar downstairs was ok, and managed to soften the misery. The mystical shuttle bus did arrive at Newark airport after about 45 minutes and in fairness it did drop me at the station to catch the train in to Manhatten.
I think you can get better for the price and I wouldn't ever stay here again. In fact I have asked our company travel agent to blacklist this hotel so nobody has to suffer the indignity of staying here again...

Room Tip: Try a tent on the service road verge if you want a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbertdipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised. The past reviews were untrue based on our experience. The hotel is next to the airport and we only heard a plane when we were outside. We did hear a train horn around 9 am as the hotel is right next to the train tracks. The breakfast was great for what we paid for it, which was ZERO. There was scrambled eggs, sausages, hash browns and waffles along with your regular continental fare. Our room was huge-#216. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby internet was a little slow at times, but we seemed to have no issues in the room. We used the complimentary shuttle to and from Penn Station; when they say leaves promptly at 10, it leaves promptly at 10. The only "inconvenience" was the fact that each time we returned to our room after being gone for the day, our room keys did not work. This is a safety feature that has been implemented by the hotel in case you were to lose your key inside the folder that had your room number listed on it-not so inconvenient anymore, smart and safe. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 216 is at the very end of the hall and is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSCTravelAgentKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a basic airport hotel with everything needed for a one night stay. Called for a shuttle from the airport and it arrived within 10 minutes even though I arrived fairly late(11pm) and the shuttle to the rental car place the next morning. WiFi worked well and there was a good breakfast in the morning. The front desk staff was both friendly and efficient. Stayed at the hotel coming in and liked it well enough to book it again when I was leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side of hotel have view only of parking garage. The other side does have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calikattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Was a good experience from beginning to end. The hotel shuttle was outside as soon as I arrived at the pick up area,it was an efficient service and a good way to meet other guests.When we arrived at the hotel, the two workers at the reception were very friendly and good humoured and upgraded the room that we had booked to a bigger one complete with a jacuzzi! This was a great start to our holiday! The breakfast the next day was complimentary and there was great choice, everything was all very well cooked and tasty. The decor of the room was very modern and nicely done. The following day, we were able to get the free shuttle to the train station in newark, the driver was very chatty and friendly along the way and gave us plenty of information about the area. Would definately recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maeve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Walking into the lobby at 1:20am my nose was assaulted with the smell of mold. I am very allergic to mold. We asked the desk clerk if the mold was through out the whole hotel, he said he would show us some rooms. He did and we chose one less moldy than the lobby as there was no where else to go at that time of night.
I had a bad night with asthma from the mold, which was made worse by taking a shower, the shower curtain was disgusting with the stuff.
On checking out, we asked why the people checking in before us paid $69.99 and we paid $125ish. We were told it was because we did not book with Best Western and it was Booking.com's fault. Another couple in the lobby had a bad experience with the hotel and came up to us saying that they had paid $149.00 to stay there and it was a nightmare room and hotel.
Not recommend for health and safety issues !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tchrs
Level Contributor
338 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The B/W is close to Newark Airport via a free shuttle every 30 minutes. The motel also offers free morning and evening shuttles to Newark Penn Station for quick and cheap access to Manhatten Island. A painless way to visit the Big Apple.

Rooms are older and nothing special, but the service is great and there is an on site cafe in the evenings. Breakfast is standard motel fare, but presented nicely. The staff was great and answered every question in correct detail.

Suggest a room overlooking the parking lot - quieter. Although a few rooms on upper floors on the highway side offer views of NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark Airport West

Property: Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114-2314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. A nominal fee is charged for Mall, Cruise Port and off peak Penn Station trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing