We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent is the word for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Newark
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Great hotel, professional people, Its should be a 4 star rating, i mean everything is best of its best. recommend for every business traveller

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank optek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 329 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

it is very easy access to visit newyorkcity from the hotel you can get get the hotel shuttle from the hotel to newark penn station which costs $8.00 for 2 people $2 extra for each aditional person. the path train costs only $1.75 per person to penn station in newyork city. the rooms are very big with an amenities of microwave, mini refridgerator, coffeemaker, iron, iron board cable tv with hbo. they also have nice continental deluxe hot breakfast with i meat item with eggs, waffle, cereal, fruits. we can make our own fresh waffle. the staff was so friendly and helpful. they will go out of their way to help you out too. for shopping in jesey gardens outlets newjersey's biggest outlet mall which is just 8 miles far from the hotel.i highly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l2009Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2009

Management response
Thank You, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Beware of booking through Expedia./Hotels.com(sister co) We were in Baltimore and decided to go to NY for the day and booked Comfort Suites through Expedia. Got transferresd to a foreign country who guarenteed a 4 star rating. We arrived very late to a dump!! Desk clerk advised "remove all belongings from car and lock up good! Room smelled,ants in bathroom,dust balls from ceiling luggage cart filthy and wobbly! Son was sick all night with food poisining/flu so checked out in AM. They are refusing to refund charges for second night! Tried to blame Expedia-Expedia blamed Hotels.com and here we sit $350.00 up in smoke!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frinaldi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2009

Management response from comfortsuitesnewark, MANAGER
(Management representative)
Feb 27, 2009
We acomodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a wonderful and satisfying experience. Consequently,it's dissapointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from guests are taken seriously. I would like to assure you that all the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action has been taken. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

great rooms, great location...totally worth it....i visit Newark 15-20 times a year and this would be the only place i am gonna stay...

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny_G83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, MANAGER at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

Management response
Thank You, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Just came back from NYC, stayed in Comfort Suites Newark, this is a really good deal. If you are driving to NYC or New Jersey and looking for a budget hotel with good value, this hotel is for you. 3 stars quality with 1-2 star hotel price. High season around $110, low season or last minute deal can be under $70. The price include breakfast and internet (cable connect to your lab top)or wireless, but the wireless is a bit weak. The breakfast is not just a coffee and bagel, but waffle, egg, ham/bacon, fruit, cereal, milk, bagel & bread, coffee and tea. The room is very clean and spacious, bathroom has nice complimentary soap, shampoo, and lotion. Bed is comfortable and shower is hot and nice. The only drawback is it is in the middle of an industrial area, so you need a car (under 24hrs surveillance). The hotel has a shuttle to NJ Penn Station which can take you to NYC, but might be long wait between schedules. Otherwise, it is a very good deal. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theorangeplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, MANAGER at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2009

Hotel Management response:

Thank You, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We Thank You for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and we hope to serving and seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I wanted a hotel close enough to drive to Manhatten without the usual NYC pricetag. I got that AND a very friendly and efficient staff AND a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilpa123456, MANAGER at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Thank You, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed at this hotel instead of paying the high prices for rooms, food and parking in midtown New York city. The building appears to be new and my room was very spacious. I found everything very clean. There were plenty of towels and pillows. The room had a small refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Free wireless internet access and HBO were included. The free breakfast was good and included bacon and eggs. I've posted some pictures of the room.

The train from Penn Station, Newark to Penn Station, New York takes about 23 minutes and runs very frequently, about every 10 minutes at rush hour. My round trip train ticket cost $7. The Newark train station is about a mile from the hotel. This make this hotel a very good alternative to driving, parking and staying in Manhattan. The hotel is only a few minutes from I-280 so there's good driving access from Pennsylvania and the west.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is surrounded by a somewhat rundown industrial area so you will need a car to go anywhere. We found a fabulous restaurant with reasonable prices, Assaggini Di Roma, about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. I only dealt with the hotel staff at check-in, at breakfast and at check-out, but all seemed pleasant and efficient. I will stay here again the next time I need to go into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roadhogCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilpa123456, MANAGER at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2009

Thank You, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy, Newark, NJ 07104-3822
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $91 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing