We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with exceptional service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites Newark
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place with exceptional service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have traveled extensively over the years on business and frequented many hotels. I can’t say enough about the staff and accommodations at this location. I want to specifically call out appreciation for the following staff members: Diana, Kieth, Isabele, Angelina, Brenda, Hector, Jennifer, Kayla, and especially the manager Ash, for making business travel a little better when away from home at an affordable rate. Don’t judge the business by what the city decides not to help build in the location but judge the business based off the service and quality they provide. The only addition I could recommend is a daily shuttle services within 1-2 miles or so. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    117
    59
    25
    29
See reviews for
97
68
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Well we know Newark is not known for wealthy people... It's not the worst hotel but not the best. It's average and somewhere to put your head for 1 nights stay... I had to ask for sheets and walk down and get them for the sofa bed.. Also there was body pubic hair in our shower (before we took a shower)... The rate is good, but you get what you pay for.. They do have complimentary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjohnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a nice time at Comfort Suites Newark. It was actually a really nice surprise considering the location; which did not turn out that bad after all. If you are into walking and won't be renting a car, broad street station was about a 10 min walk from the hotel...and the walk was not as scary or intimidating as we thought. The hotel was great. Room was large and very clean. Basically everything we needed from a hotel, plus amenities/toiletries were constantly replenished! Having a refrigerator and microwave was very useful. Reception staff were nice and helpful. Our only issue was with the smoking coming from the room beneath us. We were able to keep the smell to a minimum by always closing the bathroom door when we went out as it would come through the bathroom vents. The facilities and the price more than made up for being further away from NYC. I would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_flav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel rate is good based on the fact that if u just staying for few (very few) days. I was in family trip, within baby & kids, and just because of 30min, we couldn't check-in. Understandable because rules are rules, but how flexible the hotel could be?! specially when we have babies and kids involved. Breakfast rate is also average. The timing to replace missing items is quite longer (such as scramble eggs, bread and juice). Location: nothing to see around, its a commercial area, it's just to sleep. It's a fare rate compared within hotels in Manhattan. Besides that, room and bed are quite comfy and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leomsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Friendly front desk staff, comfortable bed, clean room. The breakfast setup was good but unattended. When the staff person finally appeared I asked if they had more boiled eggs. Instead of just answering yes, she asked me if there were any in the cooler, indicating that she hadn't checked recently. There was no salt, pepper, or sugar in sight. The fruit bowls were almost empty but there were bags of fruit lying on the floor of the supply room. Training needed.

Room Tip: Traffic noise is pretty high on the front side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent two nights here as a base for a quick trip into Manhattan. The location is very good and the 15 minute walk downhill to Newark Penn station is easy and makes access to the city very easy. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is in good condition and clean. The AC is from newer window units and is quiet and works well. Breakfast is plentiful and well presented.

There is plenty of hot water, but the water saver shower heads leave a little to be desired. The structure of the hotel is a little flimsy and a lead foot in the room above sounded like a giant rat dancing on a drum. The biggest weakness in this property is short cuts on maintenance. Fortunately most of the hotel is still in pretty good shape, but in areas that needed repair, the quality of the workmanship was amateurish and shoddy.

Rates are competitive, but if one wants to redeem a coupon, it is best to call ahead to check if the coupon rate will be honoured. We had a $79 coupon and ended up paying $131.

Room Tip: Room 230 has a jacuzzi...oddly placed opposite of the sofa but if it floats your boat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Ash Sardar
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skudeneshavn, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here during a two week trip to New York. We figured that we didn’t want to use half our budget on a hotel, and therefore we looked for nice hotels that wasn’t located on Manhattan – but with “easy access” to Manhattan. If you are looking for the same I can recommend this hotel.

Our room was big – we ordered a regular room but got one with one king bed and one queen size bed. The bathroom was nice as well. The room was clean.

One minus about this hotel would be that you can hear what the “neighbor” is doing/ saying. This did not bother us that much though, since we spent very little time in our room.

The hotel have a big car/ small bus and can drive you to the train station for a small fee. The trip to the train station is not long, just about 4- 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Property: Comfort Suites Newark
Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing