We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, breakfast neglected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Newark
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, breakfast neglected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Friendly front desk staff, comfortable bed, clean room. The breakfast setup was good but unattended. When the staff person finally appeared I asked if they had more boiled eggs. Instead of just answering yes, she asked me if there were any in the cooler, indicating that she hadn't checked recently. There was no salt, pepper, or sugar in sight. The fruit bowls were almost empty but there were bags of fruit lying on the floor of the supply room. Training needed.

Room Tip: Traffic noise is pretty high on the front side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    104
    54
    23
    27
See reviews for
85
61
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent two nights here as a base for a quick trip into Manhattan. The location is very good and the 15 minute walk downhill to Newark Penn station is easy and makes access to the city very easy. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is in good condition and clean. The AC is from newer window units and is quiet and works well. Breakfast is plentiful and well presented.

There is plenty of hot water, but the water saver shower heads leave a little to be desired. The structure of the hotel is a little flimsy and a lead foot in the room above sounded like a giant rat dancing on a drum. The biggest weakness in this property is short cuts on maintenance. Fortunately most of the hotel is still in pretty good shape, but in areas that needed repair, the quality of the workmanship was amateurish and shoddy.

Rates are competitive, but if one wants to redeem a coupon, it is best to call ahead to check if the coupon rate will be honoured. We had a $79 coupon and ended up paying $131.

Room Tip: Room 230 has a jacuzzi...oddly placed opposite of the sofa but if it floats your boat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Ash Sardar
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here during a two week trip to New York. We figured that we didn’t want to use half our budget on a hotel, and therefore we looked for nice hotels that wasn’t located on Manhattan – but with “easy access” to Manhattan. If you are looking for the same I can recommend this hotel.

Our room was big – we ordered a regular room but got one with one king bed and one queen size bed. The bathroom was nice as well. The room was clean.

One minus about this hotel would be that you can hear what the “neighbor” is doing/ saying. This did not bother us that much though, since we spent very little time in our room.

The hotel have a big car/ small bus and can drive you to the train station for a small fee. The trip to the train station is not long, just about 4- 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided upon this location due to proximity to Newark Airport, we arrived in the middle of the night and the staff was congenial. The accommodations were clean, quiet and bed very comfortable. There was more then an adequate supply of fresh food for breakfast the staff was friendly and professional. Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I checked in with a preconceived notion of Newark and the surrounding area expecting the worst. However I was surprised at the welcome I received at check in. The check in staff was very pleasant and friendly. My room was in the E level and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wholesome and adequate. NYC was very accessible and the check in counter staff very knowledgeable & helpful with tips about NYC and surrounding areas. In nut shell pleasant stay and would like to add the area the hotel is located is not bad at all it is in downtown Newark and centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve19699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I initially decided to stay here due to the hotels convenient location. Overall I had a wonderful stay for the labor day weekend. The reception staff and other staff were very welcoming and were helpful every single time I approached them. The room, the linen and the bathrooms were clean and had a fresh smell. The breakfast was freshly made and offered me more choices than I really needed. I will certainly visit this hotel again if I need to come to NJ.

Room Tip: I stayed at the 1st floor level. The hotel was full and so I did not choose the room, although the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and most enjoyed the staff service,hot breakfast and our spacious comfortable rooms and the feeling of safety & security while at the hotel. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I spent a special night a this location which is nearby by to me, I encountered a little problem when arrive at the room in which the front desk agent was very professional in handling the situation, was apologetic about it. I also have to say that my conversation with the manager was pleasant and professional. The hotel in general is great, very comfortable, great breakfast, and breakfast attendant was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Lower level is the executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the staff service at the hotel. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Ash Sardar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Property: Comfort Suites Newark
Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy, Newark, NJ 07104-3822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing