We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little known world class museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newark Museum

Newark Museum
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Newark Museum, New Jersey's largest museum, invites you to enjoy unforgettable experiences in the arts and natural sciences. Take an inspirational journey through 80 galleries of world-class collections, travel to the stars in our popular Planetarium, and stroll through our beautiful sculpture garden.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little known world class museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Newark Museum at 49 Washington St, Newark, NJ is not as well known as other museums in the NY Metropolitan area, but worth a visit. It is famous for its large collection of American Art, The Ballantine House and the Tibetan Collection. The American Art is arranged chronologically and reflects the history of the US. The collection starts in a colonial gallery and continues to the 21st century.
The Ballantine House was built in 1885 by the son of Peter Ballantine, founder of Ballantine Beer. It is fully furnished in the period and has some original furniture.
The Tibetan collection is the largest outside of Tibet. You will have to go there to find out how it ended up in Newark NJ.
There are tours of the collections, free with admission.
The NM is open Wed-Sun, 10-5pm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    60
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Used to go there as a kid with my Mom. Well worth the effort to visit with children it will be a educational experience they will long remember.
.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of NJ's Best Kept Secrets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the moment you enter the doors of this spectacular building, one can view cultures, exhibits, and history from times past.

The Ballantine House is a treat to visit. This is the home of the brewery family that is part of the museum. During the holidays it is specially decorated, and a docent is usually available at certain times for tours during the year.

An outstanding Tibetan collection as well as one from Africa is worth the visit. There is always new exhibits that are interesting as well.

Although we New Jersey residents run to New York for culture, the Newark Museum is right in our own backyard and definitely worth the ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been to the Newark Museum over a dozen times from childhood until adulthood. As a child I loved going to this musuem because you could get close enough to the works of art without and immense crowds surrounding. There is much to offer at this museum for a small price. They also take student ID's as well as AAA discounts. I recommend this museum to anyone who loves art but not the crowds. The Ballentine house is one of my favorite things offered at the museum. The gardens are also lovely in the spring and summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I loved every minute in this museum. It is small, so it's great for taking the stress out of the workday. I focused on the American artists. They are presented in chronological order, coinciding with important periods in our history. There are some real gems here, including John Singer Sargent, Thomas Cole ,John Sloan and Childe Hassam. Don't miss the Reginald Marsh . I have still not shaken it's image and symbolism from my head.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newark Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing