We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for airport layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed November 30, 2013

You don't expect too much from an airport hotel. For me the most important things are price, a clean and quiet room, and good airport transfer

This hotel scores high on two of these three. My room was $150 a night, which isn't cheap but it's much less than the airport Marriott. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was next to the lift but I heard nothing, shows how well the soundproofing works. Even the usual shouting in the corridor was muted, Airport transfer bus was excellent. It's quick and and runs 24 hours. If you have an early morning flight, the guy will even take you directly to the Terminal instead of the AirTrain station

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweateritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 965 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We needed a hotel near Newark Airport for one night before an early morning flight. Was very pleased with the entire experience. Walked out of P4 terminal and there was a Holiday Inn shuttle loading, so we had no wait. The hotel was minutes away. Upon arrival, the hotel front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The lobby had a very nice restrauant, food was good and reasonably priced. The room was clean and comfortable with nice features. Reading lights on the beds, good outlets, and good lighting. In the morning the shuttle was available for our return to the airport. Overall very pleased send would recommend this hotel. Thank you for a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we had an early flight to catch the following morning. The hotel is close to the airport and the shuttle service to/from the airport is excellent. Friendly staff all over, clean rooms and good value. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Hotels in this location before. While it can be a little hard to find with all the different exit ramps going here and there, once you are there you will be fine.

The staff was very nice and accommodating, and the rooms were very clean. I had the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was pretty good. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, juice, fruit, etc.

Checkout was easy, and getting into the city was a breeze.

I will definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadeyedhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. We arrived at Newark airport via train from the city and there was a telephone to pick up and dial for the free hotel shuttle bus.

The bus arrived within 15 minutes and it was a 10 minute drive back to the hotel. We arrived around 11am, well ahead of check in, but our rooms were ready! We also needed a car to go to a meeting in New Jersey and the front desk arranged that, no hassle.

I ordered room service lunch and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food that arrived. It was a nice grilled eggplant/vegetable sandwich with fries and I have to say some of the nicest room service meals I have had!

The room was very spacious and clean, with all the expected amenities - bathrobe, toiletries and complimentary water bottles.

Our flight was early the next morning, but the shuttle bus service is 24 hours, so it was no issue, and it dropped us right at the terminal.

I would recommend this for a quick stopover or business trips in the area. Not too sure about the train service to Manhattan - think you would be better off staying at a holiday inn in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esqualibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I been a major traveler for 12 years .
On the road 4 days a week and one day traveling home.
On the road after a trip to France for business and back to the US landing in Newark NJ .
Made a reservation on the Internet for a Holiday Inn Newark NJ
Check In after midnight and I was totally pleased with the service , great van service ,clean room , great late night sneak ,great breakfast and excellent friendly staff .
Management is very helpful and the staff takes pride in their work .
I travel all over the world and this hotel is great number 1 in my future Reservations.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Purchase31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This has everything you would expect from a hotel like this, Nothing special but everything really ok. What made this experience very special was the friendliness and professionalism of all staff. It felt really special and was a surprise in a chain hotel. I would like to particularly mention Naana, who worked in the restaurant who just cared a bit more than normal about her clients wellbeing - but this "a bit more than normal" made a huge difference. I would give the hotel facilities 3,5 stars but the staff 5,5 if I could...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $124 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing