We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel with extremely friendly and professional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel with extremely friendly and professional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This has everything you would expect from a hotel like this, Nothing special but everything really ok. What made this experience very special was the friendliness and professionalism of all staff. It felt really special and was a surprise in a chain hotel. I would like to particularly mention Naana, who worked in the restaurant who just cared a bit more than normal about her clients wellbeing - but this "a bit more than normal" made a huge difference. I would give the hotel facilities 3,5 stars but the staff 5,5 if I could...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soyporteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    399
    141
    22
    34
See reviews for
171
203
90
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I arrived at midnight, and then had a 5am flight.... getting to bed was a real priority.

As a regular into EWR I know which hotel to use and the HI is the ONLY one that ALWAYS has a shuttle bus at the offsite collection point at all times of the day or night. The hotel itself is fine, of course... not that I saw much of it.... but being able to get there, get checked-in and into beddy quickly is all that counts.... that's why I stay there always. I have submitted a review previously, and have done so again after another 6/7 stays, and its the same each time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After suffering PATH confusion, Newark Penn Station,and Air Train malfunctions, I arrived at the Holliday Inn Newark Airport. I like to stay near airports before an early am flight. Shuttle Bus lad was great, as were the checkin desk,bar and Bistro Sports bar. Best Airport food ever. Black Angus Burger and fries helped me recover from a Packer loss. Other menu items were tempting. This is not just a pub grub. Room was excellent in all areas. 5 stars (or circles)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Twp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As a business traveler for over 40 years , I try to make Newark a hub for my final ending spot.
I arrived at Newark Oct 31 and the filght was 12 hours late on arrival.
Reseavations was with the Holiday Inn Newark. From the time I arrived to the time I checked out the service was perfect .
Van service was on time, A clean room , room service was hot and on time, my check in and check out process was quick and easy.
The entire stay was relexing and the staff was helpful to rearrange my travel plans.
Management and Staff really puts hospitality first.
The General Manager was first on the spot when I left my bag in the lobby and had one of the van driver track me down in the treminal at the airport for the bag to be returned.
Thank you management.

Room Tip: All the location are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

While doing business in the area, I chose this Holiday Inn near the airport. I was quite impressed by the quality of all the amenities and friendliness of the staff. I was treated with respect and the staff addressed me by name. The room was very clean and spacious and I didn't have to worry about not getting a good night's rest! All in all, this is a first class hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayanogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and I enjoyed it. Room was clean, comfortable, bathroom was clean too. Staff was friendly. We didn't have breakfast in hotel, as it was not free, and had breakfast in the nearest shopping mall. It was easy and fast to get there, as we went by car. And there was free parking near hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and comfortable. Hotel is conveniently located. The property was well maintained. The staff was friendly and polite. My only issue with the hotel was they did not provide free breakfast. The restaurant was really expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
2.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing