We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb hotel with a horrible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with a horrible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Superb hotel with a horrible location. The hotel was built 2 years ago so the standard is very good. Free parking, free WIFI, buffet breakfast for USD 17. Comfortable room with the amenities you need, vending machines on each floor. Shuttle to the airport. Friendly staff. But the hotel has a terrible location close to the highway. Absolutely nothing to do outside. Worst ever location, but if you only stay indoor it is nice...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    404
    143
    23
    34
See reviews for
173
206
90
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on a layover that involved arriving late one evening and leaving very early the next morning. The free shuttle proved to be reliable and all went well. I was also impressed by the directions given by the guides that were at each airtrain terminal. All hotel buses have one pickup/drop-off point at the airport. As a transit hotel, the hotel had rooms the quality of most good Holiday Inns, although the desk and restaurant area seemed small. Certainly the hotel can be recommended on the basis of the quality of the rooms and the shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take great pride in our guest rooms and shuttle service and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed them as well! Hopefully we will see in the future if your travels bring you to the Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabulousFivesome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a quick trip to NJ and booked this hotel for its proximity to the airport. Rooms are updated but nothing special. Good room service. Great free, on-call shuttle to the airport. Not close to any stores or restaurants, so not great for anything beyond an airport stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousFivesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear FabulousFivesome,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We are pleased you appreciated the service you received. However it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our location. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel for work and I was pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of subpar hotels near the Newark Airport and this hotel is definitely way above a lot of the other options in the area. The rooms are pretty roomy and very clean. The decor is modern and there was plenty of room to stretch out, relax, and work. The staff is friendly and accomodating, I forgot my toothpaste and they quickly sent someone up to my room with some amenity-sized tubes of toothpaste. The only drawback is that there are no food options nearby other than the hotel restaurant which is somewhat pricey. I wound up taking the hotel shuttle to the terminal for dinner which worked out fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globeseekerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We love our rooms too! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make use of our complimentary shuttle to and from the airport when our on site restaurant didn't meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Landed at 5.30 AM at EWR, shuttle picked me up in 5 minutes, Silky smooth check in, was in the room by 5.45. Room was very spacious and well appointed with working desk, dining desk, adequate chairs etc. The bathroom matching the room size. The restaurant chef surprised me, there was hardly any veg. dishes on the menu but he went out of the way and prepared for me a veg. meal at 11.00 AM and was also very good. There was issue with some outside noise but realized that it was from next door as we had a connecting door.

Room Tip: higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haresh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was fortunate we were able to check you in so early. We only have one pair of connecting rooms in the building and it appears you were registered into one of thos rooms. I do apologize for any inconvenience. And I am glad to hear that our restaurant was able to accomodate you. Once again, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed just one night so that we could get to the Newark Airport for an early morning flight. Upon taking the train from Manhattan to the Airtrain at the airport, we were able to call for the Holiday Inn Express's shuttle service...and it arrived in minutes. Checked-in and were greeted by a huge hotel room--huge compared to anything in Manhattan, of course--that was clean and appeared brand new or recently updated. We came prepared and brought dinner with us because we figured there was nowhere to eat (without a car), unless we wanted to take the shuttle to the airport to eat there, but found a lot of business travelers eating at the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant's menu is posted in the elevator as well, and they even offer steaks! Wi-fi worked great. If we have to stay for a layover or one night to make the trip to EWR easier, will definitely return. Also booked online directly, because as members of their club, sometimes the advance purchase rate or AAA rate is better than elsewhere.

Only minor drawback, in our opinion, were the small pillows. There were plenty, but they were not very wide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide guests with the best service possible and we take pride in knowing we accomplished that with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn. The check-in was quick, and the duty manager was very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable but I had an issue with the blind in my room, maintenance was there in a flash, couldn't fix it, went off to get more tools, but instead I was upgraded to a king suite!! The restaurant was a little pricy, but you are a captive audience as there is nowhere close by if you don't have a car. But I was surprised that I had so much difficulty explaining that I wanted milk for my tea not half-and-half.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that we handled the issue you had with your room to your satisfaction. It is important to us that our guests have a good experience when they stay with us.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing