We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rip off, rude staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rip off, rude staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
-close to airport
-clean, comfortable room

Cons:
-room was paid for in advance and they still charged me two additional times for the room. When I contacted the hotel they refused to reverse the charge. (Charged $200 for a one night stay. only one of two charges was reversed. The other they refused to reverse.)
-it took 45 minutes for the restaurant to make a cheeseburger and the waitress didn't say anything to us once the good was dropped off. they auto-add gratuity, too and then still have a space for an additional tip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear trickepj,

Thank you for your review of our property. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the service received. I have sent you a private message about your review in an effort to obtain more information about your stay.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    404
    142
    22
    34
See reviews for
173
205
90
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Really nice rooms, nice little bar and restaurant and excellent location from ewr. Nothing compared to the crappy hotels near JFK. Safe parking and shuttle to airport. If you are not tired you can spend some more at some close outlets and ikea ... Just google it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I were leaving on an early morning flight to Mexico to celebrate our 15th Anniversary and decided to spend the night before at an airport hotel near the Newark Airport. Needless to say, we didn't have high expectations. However, the Holiday Inn, which appeared to be newly renovated, was truly an excellent choice. The room was updated and clean and had nice features (lots of space to the side of the bed, nice modern TV, big desk). But of particular note was the restaurant: we truly had an excellent meal there. Service was wonderful, and the food was WAY more than we could have hoped for at an airport hotel. If you need to stay near the Newark Airport, I don't think you can do any better, esp. for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottleewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down Under
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I wound up at the Newark Airport Holiday Inn after a rescheduled flight stranded me at Newark Airport overnight. I chose it as a mid-priced option that wouldn't stress my travel insurance company, but I was rewarded with a pleasant stay. The bed, the room layout, and the curtaining were superior, and the bathroom was on the upper end of average. My only two complaints were some difficulties with the room's ventilation system, and the fact that there doesn't seem to be anything within walking distance of the hotel - you're pretty marooned if you don't have a car.

That said, I had a startlingly pleasant meal at the hotel restaurant - very fresh food, attentive staff. I ordered from the a la carte menu, though there was a small dinner buffet as well. The hotel's atmosphere is quiet - lots of travelers seen in the lobby were there for business. Also: no charges for wi-fi!

The next day the hotel's shuttle conveyed me and my ENORMOUS luggage back to the airport in plenty of time for my flight. I appreciated the shuttle driver's assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here before an early morning flight out of Newark Airport. We left our car at the hotel during our trip, which was convenient. The hotel was clean. The shuttle to the airport was quick -- almost no waiting involved. On the return flight, we waited for fifteen or more minutes for the shuttle to arrive. This was okay but not optimal -- likely we arrived as the shuttle was passing our terminal and had to wait for it to complete a full circuit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn-and-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

As usual when I was in Newark, NJ I stayed here and had an outstanding stay! All of the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was ready for the meetings. During the week they checked several times a day to see if we needed anything. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Newark Airport last minute after a missed flight connection meant we arrived far too late to continue travelling.

Service was quick and efficient - and our room was clean and fairly spacious. There was traffic noise from the busy road outside - but we were so tired it wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was tasty - with a not bad choice of cereals and hot food. Price was ok - although the staff were welcoming and there was a calm atmosphere in the bistro.

There is a shuttle bus to the airport - although we only used it to travel to the nearby Alamo car rental compound.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
2.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing