We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with convenient airport access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed one night while traveling in and out of Newark. Room was relatively large with king bed, nice desk space, plenty of outlets and comfortable siting area. Very clean room and nicely appointed. Restaurant was convenient and food was was basic but quite good and reasonably priced for dinner. Also had the breakfast buffet but should have ordered off the menu as buffet fare was warm at best.

All in all a good value and convenient to the airport. We had a rental car and the shuttle driver had us follow him back to the airport which was nice as the roads in and around the airport can be confusing to someone that has not been there before.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed for one night on my way from the UK to St. Maarteen, I found the airport transfer really efficient, the hotel staff answered the airport courtesy phone promptly and gave clear directions on how to find the pick up point. In the morning the early morning service was equally quick & efficient.
The room was a good size, really comfy bed, & spotlessly clean. The restaurant/bar was pretty good, fairly basic fayre, but it was good quality & a good size portion!
If you're flying in/out of Newark this is a great relaxing place to place to take a breather before your onward journey.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on business.

This was a typical Holiday Inn Hotel. It looks relatively new and/or remodeled. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The room was not large but it was big enough. The bed was very comfortable. There was an abundance of electrical outlets and the WIFI worked great. Parking was free which is far from a guarantee by Newark Airport.

My only real complaint was the couch provided in the room was very uncomfortable but all of the other furnishings were very nice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

My only real complaint is the price. It was about $179 for 1 night in Newark. Admittedly all of the hotels in this area are overpriced, but $179 for a Holiday Inn room in Newark just seems to be too much money. But you do get free parking and WIFI.

Also, the room service, while very good, with an excellent variety, was outrageously overpriced.

All in all though I would pay the money and stay again... I would just plan to not order room service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a layover before embarking on our big US trip. The hotel is great! The staff if very helpful and very patient. We stayed at a beautifully clean room with two queen beds. The only down side to this hotel is actually trying to find it. The GPS couldn't find the hotel so we ended up driving around for about twenty minutes. Other then that I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mazalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place for connecting at Newark. Yes it's isolated but it feels safe. If you want to venture out get the free shuttle to P4 Newark airport and you can get anywhere from there. Good food at teddys be and restaurant and great staff. Staff at hotel ok. Quite false. Rooms very good size and very clean. Would highly recommend an have done to family and friends

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamBD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

King no-smoking handicapped room was located on the ground floor, adjacent to the hotels gym and just down a short hall from the small restaurant-bar. Bathroom had horizontal and vertical handrails to the right of the toilet. Shower was a roll-in with usual assortment of handrails, stationary bench, and hand-held shower that I could use, even though I wasn't in a w'chair. My husband, 6'1", said that the shower water aimed at his neck, but there was plenty of hot water. Be careful, however, as the spray covered a goodly portion of the floor. Wonderful, firm bed, with no excess of the sponge-type tops that are so common now. LED sconses above the end tables allowed late-night reading, without being desruptive. Higher table allowed access, and the w'chair easily slid beneath the top as I used my laptop.
We had dinner and breakfast buffet in the restaurant-bar; surprisingly good considering the size of the establishment. Quiet, very clean, pleasing to the eye, and especially w'chair accessible!
Shuttle service from the airport was fast, driver very helpful, and informative! I give this hotel 5 circles!! Now, we're ready for our cruise...much better than spending $600+ for a NYC room for one night. What a deal and a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet-Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had an early flight so we decided to spend the night before at the airport. Pulling up to the hotel was a little daunting. It's not really in a nice area (airports are notoriously ugly) but once inside we were surprised and pleased. The interior has been recently renovated. The room was very clean, quiet and had a big TV. The hotel restaurant had a nice menu and the food was quite good. There were a lot of business travelers there too. The shuttle to the airport at 5am was right on time with a very friendly driver. Don't overlook this little gem if you need a night at the Newark airport.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room away from elevators and vending when we make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,797 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $120 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing