We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay by the airport. A bit overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Valley Stream, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay by the airport. A bit overpriced.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on business.

This was a typical Holiday Inn Hotel. It looks relatively new and/or remodeled. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The room was not large but it was big enough. The bed was very comfortable. There was an abundance of electrical outlets and the WIFI worked great. Parking was free which is far from a guarantee by Newark Airport.

My only real complaint was the couch provided in the room was very uncomfortable but all of the other furnishings were very nice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

My only real complaint is the price. It was about $179 for 1 night in Newark. Admittedly all of the hotels in this area are overpriced, but $179 for a Holiday Inn room in Newark just seems to be too much money. But you do get free parking and WIFI.

Also, the room service, while very good, with an excellent variety, was outrageously overpriced.

All in all though I would pay the money and stay again... I would just plan to not order room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    442
    177
    27
    41
See reviews for
190
233
106
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a layover before embarking on our big US trip. The hotel is great! The staff if very helpful and very patient. We stayed at a beautifully clean room with two queen beds. The only down side to this hotel is actually trying to find it. The GPS couldn't find the hotel so we ended up driving around for about twenty minutes. Other then that I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mazalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place for connecting at Newark. Yes it's isolated but it feels safe. If you want to venture out get the free shuttle to P4 Newark airport and you can get anywhere from there. Good food at teddys be and restaurant and great staff. Staff at hotel ok. Quite false. Rooms very good size and very clean. Would highly recommend an have done to family and friends

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

King no-smoking handicapped room was located on the ground floor, adjacent to the hotels gym and just down a short hall from the small restaurant-bar. Bathroom had horizontal and vertical handrails to the right of the toilet. Shower was a roll-in with usual assortment of handrails, stationary bench, and hand-held shower that I could use, even though I wasn't in a w'chair. My husband, 6'1", said that the shower water aimed at his neck, but there was plenty of hot water. Be careful, however, as the spray covered a goodly portion of the floor. Wonderful, firm bed, with no excess of the sponge-type tops that are so common now. LED sconses above the end tables allowed late-night reading, without being desruptive. Higher table allowed access, and the w'chair easily slid beneath the top as I used my laptop.
We had dinner and breakfast buffet in the restaurant-bar; surprisingly good considering the size of the establishment. Quiet, very clean, pleasing to the eye, and especially w'chair accessible!
Shuttle service from the airport was fast, driver very helpful, and informative! I give this hotel 5 circles!! Now, we're ready for our cruise...much better than spending $600+ for a NYC room for one night. What a deal and a great find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet-Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had an early flight so we decided to spend the night before at the airport. Pulling up to the hotel was a little daunting. It's not really in a nice area (airports are notoriously ugly) but once inside we were surprised and pleased. The interior has been recently renovated. The room was very clean, quiet and had a big TV. The hotel restaurant had a nice menu and the food was quite good. There were a lot of business travelers there too. The shuttle to the airport at 5am was right on time with a very friendly driver. Don't overlook this little gem if you need a night at the Newark airport.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room away from elevators and vending when we make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, TN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

It was very good place to stay. $169.00 per night plus tax. Services were great from the shuttle driver to the front desk clark to the wait person in restaurant. It cost us $100.00 to go to mid town NYC by taxi. We could have taken a shuttle back to EWR airport and taken Metro to NYC, then it would have been $12.50 per person.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nncbubblegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very close and convenient to the airport. The shuttle only took 10 minutes and the hotel was very updated and clean. You'll be stuck eating dinner and breakfast here because there is no where to walk but overall I was very happy. After taxes, one night was over $180 so a little spendy if you don't need to be right by Newark.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing