We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will come back...perfect location for airport and NYC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This had to be the nicest Holiday Inn we ever stayed in. We arrived on a red eye flight extremely tired and had reservations at this hotel but needed to check in super early. The front office staff were super and did the best they could to accommodate us a quickly as possible at 10:30 a.m. Much to our surprise we open the door to our room and it was absolutely beautiful everything clean and shiny.. All furniture and accessories were brand new and spotless. Fridge in room was great. brand new tv's. It's located it right next door to airport parking lots which is so convenient and a 10 minute ride to NY/Penn Station. Bed's were really comfy. two styles of pillows were offered and we slept the day away in luxury at an inexpensive price. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A22ymee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 965 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband & I ended up here because our flight out of Newark was cancelled and we couldn't get out for another day. United footed the bill, and this was one of just a few rooms left at the airport. I wouldn't normally pick this place, but it was better than expected and met our needs for the night.

Appears to be a recently rennovated small holiday inn, in an industrial/airport area - nothing nearby. The shuttle driver said it was all new, but you could tell it was just spruced up.

The good: rooms were recently redone, relatively large, looked nice and beds very comfy. Couldn't hear much airport noise (yeah). Although the air conditioning was not central (had one of those in room units), it was very effective. (Traveled a lot recently and this was a great plus). The staff was very helpful and nice, from the shuttle driver, to reception, to restaurant staff. They upgraded our room (shuttle driver asked them to do this), gave great service in the dining room - my husbands dinner came out really bad, and they were very nice about supplying a prompt replacement and making sure all was well. The rest of the dinner was quite good.

The okay: a small laundry room, but at least a laundry room. The hotel was small, and the bar/dining room were co-located in the small lobby.

The bad: a funky smell in common areas. The place does allow smoking, so that may be it or the building is old. But the bedroom had no odor. The bathroom fan & light were on the same switch. I like to leave the BR light on at night, but couldn't do it. The wireless internet was useless, so slow I couldn't ever get a response. But they do have a common business area in the lobby.

Unkown: we had to leave before breakfast was served, so no comment.

Overall, I am not likely to return as I like more modern places with lots of ammenities. BUT, it fit our needs for the night - clean room, comfy beds, reasonable food and very pleasant service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sokanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is a great option when staying in the New York City Area. The hotel has been totally updated. It is very clean. They have a free transport to the Newark Airport where you can catch a train right into Penn Station New York. I would never have thought about staying in New Jersey but would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmilli95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Warning: This hotel was previously known as Days Inn. You may notice some of the photos here and on Google Earth will reflect this. You must understand that Holiday Inn has only bought and been operated the hotel since May 2011. Hence, most of the reviews here are referring to a different hotel, one that no longer exists. So do not be confused by google earth images, as they have not been updated for years, this is why you are unable to find the new Holiday Inn on there.

To find the hotel's exact location on Google Maps (despite the old Days Inn image), switch to satellite mode, locate 101 International way, then go to Station Road, Holiday Inn will be the first building South of Station Road, just south of the brown Monorail.

My Review:

Let me just warn you that in New Jersey/New York City, alot of places have bed bug problems, service issues, crime, high prices, etc. This hotel IS a steal. It's NOT too good to be true. It WILL make you feel like wanting to live there permanently. Room climate is brilliant. Customer service is like nothing I've ever experienced ever before, they take customer care to a whole new level, its amazing what just 2 people behind a desk can achieve.
They gave me free complimentary bottles of water, when I asked for free water and found out that it wasnt free.
Free 24/7 computers with internet and unlimited colour printouts, great restaraunt (please buy the buffet breakfast, and YES they will allow you many many additional fruits and cereal boxes to take away for the road, I was open to them about this).

TV remote controls sometimes have old batteries, so get them replaced if they dont work. There is a safe in every room! Shower was confusing to start, I called room service and a maintenance guy was at my door pronto to show me how easy it was.

I was in a crises and needed hundreds of dollars worth of coins asap, they took my notes and gave me the coins, no commission ofcourse.

Area is very safe, I used the complimentary shuttle bus travelling both to and from Newark airport. Gym was excellent! Hotel Decor was really snazzy too.

In a nutshell, this place deserves 5 stars and beyond, because it's probably better than your own home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeevyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipetrova, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this lovely review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your positive comment ...it means alot to us and makes us strive even harder to be the premier provider of luxury experiences in Newark. We await your next visit!


Iliyana Petrova
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed here along with 12 other business associates for a three day meeting. The entire staff from the front desk to the Sales Manager made sure the meeting went off without any problems. The meeting room had the latest technology which made giving presentations a breeze. The meals were great and the prices fair. I look forward to returning here not only for meetings but the occasional stay too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcf378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

As a frequent traveler I expect a lot from hotels, this Hotel definitely met expectations, the breakfast is basic but healthy, the staff is well trained, the Gym is simple but clean and energizing and the rooms are in good condition.
I think a +$100 for the 3star hotels in the area is overpriced, for those with cars I would recommend to stay 8miles further South for half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmedFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wow! We circled the area 5 times before we found the entrance to the hotel. Thank you Jerold at the front desk who stayed on the phone with me & coached me through the many, many lane changes and ramps around the Newark airport.

We stayed one night prior to a departure from the Newark airport. The room was clean, smelled fine & the beds were comfortable. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $127 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing