We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Volo - CLOSED

Vino Volo
Cuisines: American, Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Its in the Terminal C
Level Contributor
146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hey it's the airport what do you expect ? Good wine selection however could be better food price/portion poor comfortable atmosphere best stop at the airport

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dd980sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great spot - highly recommended! The service and menu were excellent. We didn't even feel like we were in an airport. Good music playing which filtered out all the airport noise from outside and contributed to a great atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Syracuse-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“another little oasis within the airport for the frequent traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very well located, close to the main lounge and to the food court area, if you are in that section of the EWR airport, you can then relax a small but well prepared snak and you will be able to try a fair variety of wines, they also serv a sample of three different wines of your choice. You can plug your computer or phone while you enjoy a quite place and a complex wine.
There is no wifi service thouhg, and the airport signal or network is not good at all. But at least you can sit in a quiet place, charge your gadgets, work a little bit, ejoy a good wine, and not going to the plane hungry or with a pack of junk food.
(if you find this review helpfull in any way, please let me know.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ferpalacios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great wines for an honest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good way to spend your time before boarding, we had a relatively very good Italian 2008 red for only 6 dollars per glass in a pleasant atmosphere with comfy seats!....I did not succeed in finding wine for this price anywhere in Manhattan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arjanh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
497 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Best airport dining. Ridiculously overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We first tried Vino Volo several years ago and liked it. For an aiport, and not just Newark-Liberty, it is one of the best, if not the best. Since then we have been looking for its branches in every aiport, but even in Newark it is located in one terminal only. It is a pity and a blessing at the same time. A blessing for your wallet. Yesterday on our way to Paris we stopped by again, and the quality stayed the same, the choices are more multiple and more diverse; however, in a way (we are being sarcastic) it was a good preparatory experience before Paris, for even in comparison with high European prices, the place is shamelessly expensive, and not justifiably so. My grilled chicken breast salad was quite good, with a twist of sprinkled blue cheese, the chicken was pleasantly warm. My wife's cheese platter was good too, though rather smallish, portion-wise. We ordered a flight of 3 wines, 2 glasses of French Pinot Noir, and another cheese plate. Lo and behold, with no coffee or dessert or even mineral or tap water the check was 98 dollars! Not sure whether we are going to visit again, but if we do, we will be careful to limit ourselves with Spartan choices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing