We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
kingston upon thames
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place to sleep”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Hotel was a place to sleep but it located close to newark airport and a freeway - otherwise it is not local to anything. The hotel is shabby and in need of decoration. However, it was cheap and a place to sleep. Adequate for a solo traveller or couple who don't care and just need a base. Shuttle bus ran late and hotel is forty mins from NYC - don't listen to hotel advise on how to get to NYC as they told me a route that cost $25, I found a route for $4 - take free shuttle bus to Newark airport then take bus 62 to newark pen station then catch train to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrsocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    240
    358
    264
    318
See reviews for
356
255
229
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I booked 19 rooms for a church function. Front desk manager, Victor, tried to get me to pay for the rooms 2 days prior to arrival. He requested to be the contact person for my group, yet it could take him a couple of hours to 2 days to return phone calls. He tried to vercharge some people in my group. I had to correct him on that. One of couples in my group informed me they saw a review referencing bed bug bites. I assured them i've stayed at this hotel on numerous occastions and never heard a complaint. Unfortunately, I arrived back to VA only to notice I have been biten by bed bugs. This is the first time in history this has happened to me. My bathtub, squeaked, shower curtain kept calling down as it was secured to the wall, pillow so flat it feels like you are sleeping on the mattress. And I received complaints from others that their sheets were dirty. Just dispicable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I made the huge mistake of not booking a place in advance for just one night of our trip, so we stopped in this Howard Johnson's without a reservation. It was visible from the freeway near Newark Airport. We tried to look it up on the Howard Johnson's and Expedia websites before we stopped in, but it did not show up online. They explained at the desk that they take the hotel off all the listing services when they have all but 5 rooms booked up for the night, so they don't have to pay commissions. First bad sign. Their sign screams "rooms starting from $49.99", but don't believe it. We were charged $155.

There were 3 or 4 guys behind the counter, and they all seemed to be on their cell phones taking personal calls. When we were checked in, they guy was fairly slow, and he also quoted a room rate of $139, ran my credit card, THEN told me we'd also have to pay $15 for parking. I had a bad feeling about the whole thing and told the guy I wasn't sure I wanted to check in. He informed me it was too late, because he had already swiped my credit card.

We stayed in a room with 1 Queen bed. It looked physically dirty. The drapes were ripped in half in order to draw past the air conditioning unit. We could feel the springs coming out of the bed. They claim to have free wi-fi, but it turned out to be so intermittent that it wasn't really usable. I did log in long enough to see the words "bed bugs" on another TripAdvisor review, which proceeded to keep me from sleeping a wink that night.

In the morning when we took our showers, we found that the bath drain did not work, so we were forced to turn on the water, get wet, turn it off, then soap up and shampoo, then turn on just enough water to rinse. Otherwise, we would have flooded the place. The towels had blond hairs in them. The place was generally dirty and in disrepair.

The hotel has a restaurant, but we were afraid to eat there because of the uncleanliness of the rest of the hotel. We weren't near any restaurants, and it was late, so we didn't eat dinner at all.

All in all, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in in my life, and I've stayed in quite a few budget hotels. Mostly, the staff was a bit scary, and the place was not clean. Plus, we got totally ripped off at $155 for a room like this. Really--don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Everything was great.......location was perfect, the hotel staff were very helpful.
We loved this hotel and most importantly its value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohd_shariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Not worth it at any price. We used hotwire.com so I didn't have the chance to check reviews here before booking but it appears that i'm not the only one!

I got a number of bites on my back and legs, and one bad one on my hand--it's so swollen now that I can barely make a fist! Awful. Luckily I read the tripadvisor reviews and knew to be careful with my luggage. I kept it away from the bed and I was careful not to end up with bugs in my clothes so no infestation at home. But honestly--do yourself a favor and don't take the chance. Yuck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

cant realy say much apart from this hotel is disgusting.
there is a huge smell of indian food everywhere.
the rooms are filthy, bed sheets i dont think where changed before we arrived, they were smelly and covered in hairs, we have to lie on our beach towels on top of the bed.
poor lighting in the room which makes it even more dull and depressing.
bugs scurrying up the walls.
they charge you $15 per day for parking which they dont tell you about at booking stage.
hotel is under the flight path so can be noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corona6pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

You can tell from other reviews that this place is not up to usual American standards and is barely fit for the rest of the world. It's a dive - pure and simple - and I can't remember staying anywhere worse since the 70's. Run by Asians (Indian, I think), you're greeted by a distinct odour in the common areas which some will not like.

Don't get me wrong - it's true that they provide a free shuttle from P4 EWR, and that the services onsite match their advertising. There's a small "restaurant" serving overpriced snack food and that's your only choice as you're a long way from anywhere else. The gym on the third floor looked adequate. They have vending machines (although it's pot luck if you get what you press).

My room had a lovely view of the junkyard next door and could not have been closer to the passing planes. Fortunately, it was so hot outside that the a/c drowned most of the noise.

On the plus side, the a/c worked, there's a fridge and a TV. The bed was OK but nothing special. The bathroom was functional. The reception staff were pleasant and the room was serviced correctly.

However, I'd find somewhere else on my next visit, as the $60/night (+$6 parking) is too much for this. I couldn't recommend this hotel to an enemy, let alone a friend. Even the 'high-speed internet' reminded me of the 70's. Awful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing