We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place that I have ever eaten in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden State Diner

Garden State Diner
Ranked #246 of 568 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Newark Airport and Port Newark
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worst place that I have ever eaten in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went here with my wife and we both found it to be the worst place we have ever eaten in.

First of all, all the staff were standing around talking and it took 2-3 minutes for us to get seated. The table was filthy. One of the staff came over to clean it after I asked and simply rubbed a napkin over it. I had to use water and a napkin myself to clean in properly.

The waiter who served us was extremely rude. He was more interest in comparing tattoos with a woman sitting near us that he got both our orders wrong. He forgot to bring the drink, and when I asked he said he'd get it, and never did. I had to ask another member of staff.

The food itself was average at best. I did not finish it.

When I went up to pay for the food, a different member of staff actually physically pushed me out of his way to get by instead of simply asking me to move. I was waiting for about 5 minutes for someone to even serve me.

I have never eaten anywhere or gone anywhere where the staff were so rude.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sneijder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    18
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
466 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best in Newark airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I tried several places in the Newark airport but this is certainly the best . Good food , good selection , prices are good and the service is good also .

Plus the service is quick if you are rushed .

Great place . I certainly recommend it .

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best airport eatery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at this airport diner twice before boarding our flight and the meal has been great on both occasions. I had gyro and pita bread while my husband had a burger. They were both really fresh and tasty, the service was quick and everyone was really friendly and polite.
One of the best airport eateries I have ever been in.

Helpful?
Thank Misty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What A Great Airport Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I never expected decent diner food at an airport, but Newark has this little gem. Almost makes me want to ply into Newark next time I go to NYC.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkBCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for a diner at an airport!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have eaten breakfast here a couple of times now and it's been very good each time. Service was quick and efficient and I had my meal in 10 minutes or less. I had the Ham and eggs breakfast and it was very good. The portions were nice and the ham was a ham steak slice as compared to the pressed ham you sometimes get. Very tasty home fries and toast cam with the order and it was right around $12 ! I've only eaten breakfast here so I can't review on the lunch/dinner foods. If you're in Newark and need breakfast...go here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden State Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing