We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Great Airport Restaurant”
Review of Garden State Diner

Garden State Diner
Ranked #215 of 574 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Newark Airport and Port Newark
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What A Great Airport Restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I never expected decent diner food at an airport, but Newark has this little gem. Almost makes me want to ply into Newark next time I go to NYC.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkBCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    44
    19
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
259 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for a diner at an airport!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have eaten breakfast here a couple of times now and it's been very good each time. Service was quick and efficient and I had my meal in 10 minutes or less. I had the Ham and eggs breakfast and it was very good. The portions were nice and the ham was a ham steak slice as compared to the pressed ham you sometimes get. Very tasty home fries and toast cam with the order and it was right around $12 ! I've only eaten breakfast here so I can't review on the lunch/dinner foods. If you're in Newark and need breakfast...go here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just left the diner. Worst food and service ever in NJ, and maybe anywhere. Food doesn't match description on menu. Had to pick my check up with a napkin. Server sneezed into hand just before delivering with that hand.

Sent my complaint to email address on check. Three days still waiting for a reply.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safetyman677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Airport Resto”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hearty diner food and fast/friendly service :) Definitely heading back during my next layover! Loved the retro decor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SiamesePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best breakfast at EWR”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As close to diner breakfast as you'll get at airport and better than any of the fast food kiosks. Generous portions for the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden State Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing