We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place for Sangria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mompou

Mompou
Reserve with OpenTable
Mompou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 566 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Ironbound
Cross street: Prospect St.
Transit: We are located two blocks from Newark Penn Station.
Newark, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Sangria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Mompou's has the best white sangria in town. I love the tapas menu for lunch as it is just the right portion and not too expensive. Although Mompou's is a Spanish restaurant, the menu has many alternatives to the typical Portuguese /Spanish dishes that dominate the Ironbound. The restaurant is cozy but not too cramped and adequate for the crowd; however, patio is my favorite during the summer. I do think that the dessert menu could have a better selection; it's missing a good chocolate dessert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlenessaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice décor, good service, and delicious tapas! I went there with my daughter and we loved it! They have a patio in the back with heating lamp posts that resembles the ones we see in Europe (especially in Italy). We will go back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great small plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was again here last night. The Octopus and Hanger steak are delectable! I only wish the price of the steak was a bit less for the size you get. Great service as well! I love eating here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise in Newark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We were in Newark for only one night to catch an early flight and were so happy to find such a nice place so close our hotel. The service was excellent, the place was surprisingly cool and funky inside and I really liked the food choices. I really liked the chickpea salad and the tres leches cake and coconut creme brûlée were lovely. I really liked both the red and white sangria. I would definitely go back if I didn't live 2,000 miles away.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrEmily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Horrible. No other word expresses how I felt about this restaurant. We walked into the restaurant and the hostess was nowhere to be found. Then a server came by and seated us. After a few minutes our waiter came with menus. So we decided on a few tapas that we wanted and then the waiter came by and told us 3 items were no longer available. Really!!! On a Saturday night at 8 o’clock you run out of food. So 2 out of those items were what we were going to order. So we ordered Sangria (large) but when we got the carafe it looked like it was a small. Oh well. So we ordered the shrimp skewers, potatoes bravos and tostones. The shrimp were really bad, no flavor and the sauce that come with it also had no flavor. The potatoes were okay, a little spicy. I am not a big fan of tostones and they were okay. So then we decided to get 2 more items, the cod fritters and the yuca. The cod fritters were not good at all and the yuca were okay. The waiter came by only once to ask how we were doing. When it came to pay we had a restaurant.com coupon, so we gave it to the wait staff. When the bill came, the coupon was taken off but he gave himself a 20% tip. On the coupon it states that gratuity will be include but did not give an amount. I WILL NEVER GO BACK!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mompou also viewed

 

Been to Mompou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing