We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Room for Bride and Groom on Wedding Night!!! Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No Room for Bride and Groom on Wedding Night!!! Awful!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2007

My best friend got married in May and had selected this hotel for her guests to stay in due to its proximity to the reception hall.

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had in 24 years of traveling. The shuttle that was supposed to transport us from the wedding to the hotel departed without the guests, leaving us in the dark, alone, after the reception hall closed. We had to have the least intoxicated of us drive everyone to the hotel in shifts.

The man at the front desk was no help whatsoever. When I called from the reception hall looking for the bus, I asked his name so I could tell the manager how he had refused to help us, and he said "When you get to the hotel, I will tell you my name," and hung up on me.

Upon arrival, we learned that the hotel had given the bride and groom's room away... ON THEIR WEDDING NIGHT. They had to kick the groom's brother out of his room just to have a place to stay.

The room was fine for a Best Western but the miserable experience is the only thing the wedding party, newlyweds, and I will ever remember about this terrible place.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Terrible treatment by staff.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChicagoBrettski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    89
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
110
41
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

I had to stay 1 night here because a family member was staying here, so didn't have much choice. The rate seemed a little on the high side ($114 + taxes) for a queen bed smoking room. After reading the reviews here, I thought it was going to be pretty bad. But all in all, it was pretty decent to me.

The room was clean (the carpet was a bit sticky in certain
parts, but since I always bring flip-flops to a hotel, this wasn't a problem). Bathroom was excellent (looks like it had recent ceramic titles put in). Room size was quite large and spacious. The TV had like 70 stations. The only real problem was the bed, which was shaky and not steady. Other than that, it had free wi-fi (which was nice!), free continential breakfast (regular juices, bagels, toast, jams, etc.) $3 extra gives you a fresh omelet, which we opted for.

Location seems in the middle of a sleepy town, with no public transportation anywhere near by, so you really need your own car.
Area seemed quite safe (walking distance to a shopping center and many corporate buildings).

Service was friendly and excellent. (front desk lady)

Overall, if you need to be in this area, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. But if you have some choices, you may be able to get a better deal by price comparison with Courtyard by marriott similar, though its 20-25 minutes away. This was the *ONLY* hotel in the area from the little time I spent there, so beggars can't be too choosy here.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank ibookstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

I stayed here on business for one night in August 2006. My travel budget was limited, otherwise, I would have stayed at a hotel (not motel) kind of place.


Pros:
- Check in was quick and the front desk very helpful
- Room service from the attached Italian restaurant was very good and reasonably priced
- No critters (bed bugs, etc.)
- In room movies and internet worked well

Cons:
- Rooms were not super clean -- there was a sticky substance on the desk and chocolate (I hope) looking marks on the alarm clock
- Beds had very thin sheets and flat pillows that seemes very old
- Carpets had stains on them
- In general, I felt like I had to clean my hands after I touched a surface and I wore socks so I didn't have to walk barefoot on the carpets.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cattycat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This property is the only choice for New Providence NJ. I recommend traveling to Morristown (about 15 minutes away) instead. Cleanliness is spotty; the desk staff ranges from the competent to woefully disinterested. Room service trays remain in the hallway for 24 hours. The "continental breakfast" consists of frequently stale muffins and bagels. For $3 you can purchase something they call an "omelet". Check-in can be a nightmare depending on who is at the front desk. Maintenance is irregular; at one point the maintenance man could not open the door to the exercise room because he didn't have a key.

If you choose to stay, make sure to inquire as to whether there are any wedding parties. These will be loud, rude, and active to the wee hours and the hotel staff unwilling to address the behavior.

Why did I stay long enough to learn all this? My corporate travel department required it!

Stayed June and July 2006.

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — Staff was rude and disinterested.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay on a weekend when there is a weddiing party there.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank StrictlyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

I was actually in the New Providance Area for a funerial of my husbands friend who passed away. I found the Best Western to be pretty "average" there was nothing wrong with it. It had one bed which is all we needed you could have gotten two as well a decent bathroom. It seemed just like every other hotel. Nice Clean good service. I wouldn't complain if you need somewhere to stay for a night or two and are going to be in this area stay here it's not a bad place at all.

  • Liked — it was a nice clean place
  • Disliked — i really had no complaints
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbug287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

This is a really nice hotel. The staff are fantastic: helpful and offer a good, personal service. The rooms are well kept and huge, well decorated and the hotel is in a pretty area. This is a particularly good place to stay if you are on business in the area for a couple of days; there is plenty of workspace and internet connection. The hotel restaurant is very good (for dinner and breakfast), but if you prefer to eat out, there are also a range of eateries and delis (and a supermarket) relatively close by.

Helpful?
2 Thank Billy Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2004

The room carpets are so dirty you won't want to take your shoes off! The bathroom floors are sticky. The curtains had once been white but are now a coffee-color. This place has the monopoly in New Providence. Marriott, Hilton, Holiday Inn! Are you out there?? How 'bout a little competition for this run-down flea-bag??

Helpful?
9 Thank Criticaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Providence
2.2 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
470 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
6.7 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
59 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
3.6 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 535 Central Ave, New Providence, NJ 07974-1561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel New Providence
Best Western New Providence
New Providence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing