We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
171
111
46
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
111
46
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary breakfast room was clean oatmeal family wedding the hotel staff new jersey hard boiled eggs up to date pleasant stay front desk staff berkeley heights definitely stay here again coffee maker very nice hotel hotel room providence moe
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 349 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2016

My family of 6 (4 kids ranging from 7-13) needed to stay at the Murray Hill Inn because our house was still under construction when we came back from vacation over the summer. Due to the construction taking much longer than anticipated, our 2 week stay was extended to 6 weeks. Each and every staff member was excellent! The room was cleaned every day to perfection. They could not have been more accommodating to us. Everyone was super nice and made us feel right at home! The free breakfast was amazing!! Thanks to Kerry and his awesome staff!!! The Cook Family

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Your recent review of our hotel and associates' performance certainly sets the tone for this new year. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your 6 weeks with us, and are pleased to see that we ended 2015 on a high note! Your comments validate what we try so hard to achieve and remind each of us that providing superior customer care goes a long way with our guests. We hope you and your family are enjoying your new home, and I thank you for recognizing the efforts of an amazing group of individuals I call my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Hits and misses. Bed - super comfortable. I would like to own that bed. Tv controller is "easy clean" hopefully they do, first time I've seen those so it was a nice touch. The grounds and hotel. Rooms look remodeled. The covered drive up is probably nice when its raining and you have old people in the car. The free coffee is good.

Misses. We were lucky it wasn't colder, when the heater (or AC I guess in summer) comes on it was loud enough to wake you early or keep you awake when trying to get to sleep. Water pressure was terrible as was the crappy dollar store shower head. Tried to get it off of "cold mist" but then it seemed to only dribble. GYM has a treadmill and elliptical and a DANGEROUS looking weight machine. Weights on one of the sets have pin badly pulled, like if you tried to fix it so you could use it you could crush a finger. And a sort of odd these days sauna. I enjoyed the Sauna - nice throw back to the 70's.

I would say it is about as nice as a 1970's vintage hotel could be - its clean. Its not on Route 22 (bonus) Most of the staff was welcoming and friendly. ESPECIALLY the breakfast lady- she seemed to be happy you were there. Nice that they have computers in the upstairs hall to use if you don't have your own along. We arrived to an empty hotel on Christmas day - earlier than check in time - and were told to come back later - but that the reservation was all set. Fine a policy is a policy - just don't go out of your way. The later check in guy was a little befuddled seemed to be running the credit card through a lot (10 times through the scanner?). The breakfast stands out as a highlight- included and well better than most hotel breakfasts... eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, usual stuff too.

Yes I would stay here again.

Room tip: Upstairs seemed fine. Elevator on site.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liketwobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, and offer objective feedback for us to improve upon. Allow me to start with the "misses" by saying that I am sorry we were not aware of the inconvenience with the heat/ac unit because we certainly would have changed you to another room immediately. These units can of course experience isolated issues and we try our best to resolve the problem once it is reported. The restricted flow shower heads in our guest rooms are in fact a brand requirement, but we will certainly check to see if the one in your room is restricting flow more than it should. We recently purchased new equipment for our Fitness Center but the Multi-Functional Trainer (to replace the gym set you referred to) is on back-order. I am sorry that it was not on site during your recent stay. Finally, although our "check in" time is 3pm, we always do our best to accommodate early arrivals because we prefer that guests not have to wait in our lobby. However, we are 100% occupied over the Christmas holiday and often our "departures" request late checkouts, and this pushes everything back a bit. Although we still have rooms ready for our arrivals by 3pm, we simply cannot accommodate the number of early arrivals. In response to the "befuddled" Guest Services Representative, we have just installed a new property management system and there is of course a learning curve. I am sorry for any inconvenience during the process. In response to the "Hits" from your stay, I want to thank you for recognizing a few of our strengths as well. We are pleased that a "highlight" of your stay was the breakfast buffet and the Breakfast Attendant. We understand the importance of this guest amenity and try very hard to deliver the very best! We do hear great feedback regarding our comfortable beds and glad that you were pleased as well. Thank you so much for your comments and we hope you will stay with us should your travels bring you near New Providence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Had to pick up my daughter from Philly from school and we live in Massachusetts so knowing it was too much to drive back I decided to stay overnight in familiar surroundings to cut down on the remainder of the trip (I grew up in that town). We arrived late - room was ready and clean -breakfast was really good - and staff was friendly - I don't expect much more than that - A convenient place to stay especially if you want to visit NYC -

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, and for recognizing our friendly associates, as well as the clean guest rooms. We are very proud of our upgraded complimentary breakfast buffet, and pleased that you found it to be really good. We hope you stay with us on one of your future trips to the Philadelphia area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the area to see family. Good location, felt safe travelling alone. Good value, very comfortable bed but shower needs updating. Room was a bit musty but leaving the window cracked seemed to help. Clean room, sizable bathroom. Easy and free parking.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lechienblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

We are pleased to see that our convenient location suited your needs and that you found value in our services and amenities. Thank you for recognizing the effort of our Room Attendants, who are diligent about our brand standard of cleanliness. We are confident that you will be in a room with a newly renovated bathroom on your next trip through our area because we should complete the hotel renovations within the next couple of months. Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2015

The hotel is spotless with personnel that are knowledgeable and helpful with nice personalities. The room was spotless with a mini kitchen and tea and coffee. The breakfast was good and had a very good varity of food. Have stayed there before and will certainly go back.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gladys W. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay, and we are pleased that our associates were able to assist with all of your needs. I will certainly share your remarks about the "spotless" housekeeping with our room attendants, as well as recognize the efforts of our associates managing our extensive breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you with us on your next trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews