We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated but a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel recommended by customer. Good value stay Breakfast was just 'ok' The hotel is close to a few decent places to eat and only 5 mins from the Highway. Classic Americana hotel could almost be used as a film set. Receptionist was very friendly sorting a cab and finding us an 'interesting' place to eat - Top Peak Brewery

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartmorpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found the location to be convenient for your recent visit, and that our friendly staff was able to answer your questions about the local area. We have recently begun updating and renovating those public/guest rooms perceived to be "dated" and confident that the results will be added value to our guests. If your travels bring you back to Central New Jersey, we hope to have the opportunity to show you the many changes first-hand.
Kerry Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    37
    8
    9
See reviews for
101
38
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I found this hotel to be an excellent hotel. Of all the places I have stayed this was the cleanest and had everything I could ask for. All of the members of the staff were very efficient and friendly from the time that I walked in the front door until five days later when I had to leave. A complimentary continental breakfast was served every morning in a comfortable dining room. It was a great stay overall.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Providing superior customer care is our goal and we are pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations. We certainly take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and appreciate the fact that you felt we excelled in this regard. Our extensive complimentary breakfast is a popular amenity with our guests, and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to the area as well.
Kerry Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I would say that basically the hotel is a good facility with some management problems that could easily be corrected but which made our stay there a good bit less than the best.
On the positive side the rooms are in decent condition and clean. Only a couple of cigarette burns on the carpet, otherwise ok. The linens were good quality, the bath well stocked with good quality towels etc and basic toiletries and the staff for the most part were friendly. There was a good wide-screen TV with the usual enormous number of channels and a remote that worked most of the time. The rattle and vibration from the heater fan was not too annoying; I sleep with earplugs so it mattered little. There was no clock in the room, but when we finally had a moment to mention it to the front desk they were surprised and had one brought in quite quickly.
The complimentary breakfast was okay. The fresh made waffles were right off their grill and were quite good.
The beds in our room were extremely soft and I don't mean a pillow top but the kind that really give way so you really sink in. Personally I did not mind it but people who need or like a bed that has some kind of firmness, even just "flatness" with a super soft pillow top above it, they could end up with a backache.
The small gym has three very basic machines, a small sauna, a TV and, to my surprise, two private showers.

In other areas there were some problems:
The hot water in the bath did not last long enough for both of us to take warm showers one after the other.
A bigger disappointment was our one attempt at room service. The "baby greens salad with goat cheese and walnuts" came with no walnuts and little cheese. The braised vegetables with gorgonzola cheese came with virtually no cheese. The meal was delivered with no napkins (perhaps we were supposed to use some of the nice washcloths from the bath?) And to cap it off, the pot of hot water requested came with no cup to drink the water and in the pot of water there was A DEAD WORM. Shades of "no star" hotels, but this is supposed to be a 3 star! The receptionist was unable to do anything about this at checkout. Later we got a refund of $15 on a bill that totaled $40.
We spent four nights at this hotel and at 10 am one morning, while we were still in the room after a very late night, some construction started in the room next door. High velocity drills and electric hammers. The noise was the hotel room equivalent of having a big molar drilled and filled in the dentist's office. We found it so ridiculous that they would decide to do repairs like this in the morning when guests might still be in the rooms, we just started laughing while simultaneously vowing: we will never use this hotel again.
I can imagine that others will visit the hotel and have none of these problems. A long apologetic letter from the management addressing our complaints was some consolation but they explained that the restaurant claimed there WERE walnuts in the salad. (Well hidden if there were...) and something very vague that was actually basically saying that there was no proof that there was a worm in the teapot, and that no construction was being done near rooms with Do Not Disturb signs and that there were no signs in the area where were. (We had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door every night and morning until we left the room.)
So either I am losing my mind or the staff is lying to cover themselves.
Whatever the reality, we are not interested in using the place again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hansa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. I must admit, I am genuinely surprised at your experience since the level of service you received is not typical at the Murray Hill Inn & Suites. We do our very best to respond to guest feedback when we become aware of deficiencies, and I wish we would have known of some of your experiences while you were a guest of ours.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by light construction activity on one of the mornings, and I want to assure you that a call to our Guest Services Representative would have resulted in a stoppage of activity near your room. Room renovations, such as installation of crown molding and removal of bathroom floor tiles, have been on-going in recent months and we make every effort not to inconvenience our guests. While there is never a good time to make noise in a hotel environment, we have found that between the hours of 10am – 2pm most guests are off premises. That being said, if a guest contacts us to inform us of a disturbance, we oblige by discontinuing work in that vicinity. I wish we had been made aware of your dissatisfaction at the time of the disturbance.

I am pleased that you felt “basically the hotel is a good facility” and that the staff was friendly. Additionally, it is good to see that we met or exceeded your expectations with regard to housekeeping and breakfast service. As for the incident regarding the insect in your teapot, we sincerely apologize for that experience. It was totally unacceptable. We are currently investigating how this unusual occurrence could have happened as our kitchen is impeccably clean.

We would like to thank you for helping us to improve our operation and services and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Mr. Kerry Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had some meetings at a client near the hotel. The hotel was not lacking in any way. The service was excellent, The hotel was very clean, and seemed to have been updated in the not too distant past. The room and bathroom were quite large. Free wifi internet worked fine. Quiet location, with a few restaurants within walking distance. Room service dinner was delivered quickly, with high quality, and priced very reasonably for a hotel even after delivery charges and gratuity. The hotel is not a luxury hotel, but luxury is not always required. I am happy to recommend it, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions from your recent stay, and for recognizing the high level of service provided by the staff. We are glad that you found our facilities to be large, clean and updated. We hope to have you back at the Murray Hill Inn & Suites soon.

Regards,
Mr. Kerry Lee
General Manager
Best Western Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the hotel and am already impressed by the lovely experience I am having.
The days starts with a on time wake up call.
Followed by a complimentary hot and cold breakfast.

Here below is the standard breakfast menu:


Breakfast menu.

Hard boiled eggs.
Steamed potato.
Scrambled eggs.
Sausage. 
Waffle with syrup
Water with ice
Orange juice
Apple juice
Bananas
Hot skim milk
Whole milk
Cornflakes with raisin
Cheerios
Another cornflakes
Bread toasted
Crossiant
Apple pie patties
Yogurt
Jam,strawberry jelly,blueberry jelly
Coffee all types

thereafter , a complimentary shuttle service is there ,waiting for me at the gate with Peter the driver on the wheels.

on my way out, I get to meet the lovely Jane who is always there to answer any queries and address any problem.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shuvro4trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your impression of this hotel, and for recognizing the efforts of two members of our staff. We are glad to see that we have exceeded your expectations with our breakfast buffet, and welcome any suggestions you might have to make it even more satisfying. As an extended stay guest, we know how important it is to provide transportation to work each day, as well as relaxing accommodations at the end of a work day. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable over the coming weeks.

Mr. Kerry Lee
General Manager
Best Western Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
477 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The room was large with a sofa and desk in addition to the bed. Plenty of hanging and drawer space for clothes. There is no fridge in the room. The hotel decor is a bit dated and could do with an upgrade. The hotel restaurant is OK, but does not serve alcohol (you can bring your own). The free breakfast is also OK with juice, yoghurt, bread/bagels and a small selection of cereals and hot foods. There is very little within walking distance and so you definitely need a car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have family in Summit and have stayed here on at least five different visits. Our rooms have always been ready, clean with everything we need for an overnight stay - nothing more, nothing less. Free wifi. 24 hour coffee/tea station in lobby is nice touch rather than making in suite. Breakfast is nothing special; hot and cold buffet, mainly continental type offerings (not a lot of fresh fruit) plus the standard chafing dishes of lukewarm scrambled eggs and bacon. Rooms in vicnity of lobby where noisy when we stayed there one night when there was a wedding in the restaurant. Not great value, but better than pricier options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask if party or wedding in the restaurant, and if so, avoid rooms in vicinity of lobby (main and sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeONsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are pleased to see that the Murray Hill Inn & Suites is your hotel of choice when visiting your family in Summit. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your previous stays, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mr. Kerry Lee
General Manager
Best Western Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Providence
2.2 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
3.6 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
6.6 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 535 Central Ave, New Providence, NJ 07974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel New Providence
Best Western New Providence
New Providence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing