We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good hotel, but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel, but small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel was actually pretty nice. Everything was clean, service was decent, breakfast was good, and it's close to the train station. My only complaint is that the rooms are far too cramped, and that they didn't have king size beds (only double).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12KPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    305
    132
    63
    31
See reviews for
153
137
55
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a great experience at the Hyatt Regency New Brunswick. George checked us in, He was professional and efficient. I was not familiar with the area so moments later I stopped back by the front desk and Nisha was more than helpful she answered my questions and gave me suggestions that were very helpful. There was a bellman that greeted us with a warm smile each time we passed. The bartender (young female ) was also very knowledgable about nightlife and restaurants in the metro area. The rooms were nice and clean. I have worked in hospitality for the last 6 years at a four star property. It is hard to get my seal of approval. The Hyatt Regency New Brunswick is a place that I am looking forward to visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Their executive suite is listed at under 500 sq.ft. but is a nice sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not many options for a good hotel in New Brunswick. This Hyatt is pretty much it.

The good:
Decent area. Not threatening at night.
10 minute walk to New Brunswick train station.
The area around the hotel is good. Walking distance to restaurants, fast food and a 7-11 store.
Nice lobby and restaurant, although I did not use it.
Lobby store selling drinks and snacks 24 hours honor system, pay at front desk.
Gym in the basement is decent. 24 hour access with card key. Modern machines, tread mills and ellipticals with TVs.
Bathroom is small buy OK, good amenities, hot water, nice tub and shower.


The not so good:
The mattress is too soft for my preference.
The reception on the TV is poor.
They charge for in-room WI-fi. No thanks.
The free WI-fi in the lobby was terrible.
Two small 16 oz water bottled in room, $3/each. Also no thanks.
Went to get a Pepsi from the machine on my floor at 2:30 am. $2.50 but it cam out frozen solid. I went to the front desk and the let me take one from the lobby store.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a well designed, clean hotel in a convenient location. Hotel restaurant is excellent. Bar area available as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is a little bit confusing, so check the level when you go into the hotel. The hotel is on a level lower the the garage. Close location to Rutgers University and area hospitals. Would gladly stay again and recommend this hotel to others as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenNEU03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay at the Hyatt Regency. The room was ok but a bit dark, also the bathroom was really really small and my tap was not working properly, also after mentioning that to the reception. The food was ok, the staff that served the food was super great! We had a business meeting at the hotel itself and they were absolutely helpfull and doing their utmost best. Terry from the reception is a great asset for the hotel, she does everything with a big smile, remembering what you need and trying to make you feel comfortable. The environment around the hotel, I don't know... I went to get a coffee at a nearby starbucks and I didn't felt really safe.

Room Tip: Choose a room 6th floor or above as these are the 'quiet' rooms, there is even a banner sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinnie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 307 .. Very nice suite located in the front of the hotel. We really enjoyed the comfort and space. We stayed at the other hotel( Heldrich) in the area and it doesn't come close to the Hyatt. Terry is the person that greeted us at the front desk and she is a complete professional. Looking forward to our next visit. The Clark's

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckman2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Needed a hotel near Freehold and found the Hyatt, a 4-star hotel with all amenities, right off Hway 18. Luxurious lobby and upscale restuarant. Room was spacious, immaculate, and comfortable. Free wi-fi on weekend. Breakfast buffet was gourmet and delicious. Convenient parking lot makes this an easy access place for journeying anywhere from central NJ to NYC.
Great value as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.1 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
#2 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Brunswick

Property: Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Address: Two Albany Street, New Brunswick, NJ 8901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary convention/ conference center hotel within walking distance of downtown New Brunswick. 288 Room, 14 suites hotel with 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including a 9,600 sf ballroom. Public and meeting space renovation completed in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick Hotel New Brunswick
New Brunswick Hyatt Regency
Hyatt New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing